Italian Portobello Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I thought this was very tasty.Even my husband who hates mushrooms liked this.The only problem is that it is not kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
These were excellent! My boyfriend and I both loved them. I mixed the basil and mayo ahead of time and chilled it for about an hour to blend the flavors. We used all of the mayo that was called for because our bread was sort of dry. Try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I tried this and modified it a bit. I added a bit of whorstechire and garlic w/ mushrooms and fried onions separately. Additionally, I used a sub roll instead to make it more like a cheesteak and added a bit of horseradish to the spread and it was FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Excellent sandwich! My husband and I are new vegetarians and this meal makes us glad we are. Very quick and easy to make and tastes delicious. I only used a fraction of the mayo, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I thought this sandwich was INCREDIBLE! I love Portabello sandwiches and this was SO easy and delicious. I'm a new vegeterian so this will definately become a fave of mine. I actually toasted the sourdough bread with the provolone cheese in the toaster oven so the cheese was niely melted. I also added a shake or two of oregano to the basil mayo in addition to the fresh basil. Also I tossed the roasted peppers in the skillet for the last two minutes of cooking, just enough to get them hot. I admit it was a bit sloppy to eat but totally delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
my husband and I loved these :)though the recipe calls for way too much mayo for us . we only used about 1/2 the amount of mayo/basil called for . These are excellant and we will be making them again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This was the best portobello mushroom sandwich ever. The basil mayo and provolone cheese give it a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
i'm still in the process of cooking the recipe....but it seems like the recipe called for too much mayo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
My girlfriend and I thought this receipe was great. It was easy to fix and tasted wonderful. We will definately be having it again. I used pita bread and put them between paper towels int he microwave to make them soft. I also left out the onion by request of my girlfriend and they were still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RO66YB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Charles City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Instead of making a sandwich, I grilled the onion & mushrooms & added them to pasta w/marinara sauce. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States