Italian Pocket Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was delicious! I couldn't find Johnsonville ground sausage so I used another brand....sorry Johnsonville. This was so easy and everyone loved it. I also made pizza sauce from scratch using the "Exquisite Pizza Sauce" recipe from this website. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Rated good as is. I'm not going to rate "based on my changes I give it a _star rating". Went with the original recipe for a few pitas and a few "special" pitas. Again, five stars based on original recipe. Please quit rating recipes based on your additions/subtractions because it is not useful to anyone to base a recipe on your personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I added fresh minced garlic and mushrooms. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Wonderful as is, but I think next time I will add the sauce inside the pita. Pouring down rain today so cooked them under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used ground beef because that's what I had, I also added a bit of sauce in with meat mixture. Toasted pitas in my toaster oven and skipped the olive oil. Picky kids liked it, overall a quick easy delicious weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Only 4 stars because it needed extra seasonings. Garlic, italian herbs, onion, red pepper flakes, pepper, mushrooms, or diced peppers would all be delicious to add in any combination. Very tasty and quick for a week night, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Really good.. used pork and chicken johnsonville sausage, and grilled this in my GF gril..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
If you like calzones, you'll love this! Extremely easy to make, and great for something quick! I put these in a toaster oven to cook it quickly, and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by tcsangel
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Super easy to make! My family loves them! Definitely will make them again! We love Johnsonville sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Family really loves these "italian tacos"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States