Italian Pinwheel Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made these the other night to go with Baked Ziti. They were a hit! I proofed my yeast first then added the remaining ingredients. Mine only took 2 cups of flour and did not have the sticky problem others mentioned. Rose beautifully. I didn't melt the butter, just spread soften butter onto dough and used dry parsley. Also topped with softened butter before baking and they browned nicely. Very nice soft roll but next time I think I'll use roasted garlic as the raw garlic was very strong. These have so much potential for using other fillings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Oh my gosh these were fantastic! The dough was so easy to work with and when baked was so tender. This recipe was so easy I let my 2 1/2 year old help out with the measuring and he "helped" me knead the dough and sprinkle the cheese. This was a great recipe to start with and I did tinker with the ingredients my second time making these. Here's what I changed: the dough I didn't change a thing, it was perfect as is. The filling: I brushed the dough with more butter than called for and my garlic was chopped almost to a paste so I rubbed it onto the butter/dough using my fingers. I used the parsley (if you don't have fresh parsley dried works just fine) and oregano called for and also some dried basil and a bit of dried red pepper flakes for just a tiny bit of bite. I used more than the 1/4 C of parmesan called for probably more like 1/2 a cup. After rolling, slicing and letting rise I brushed them with butter so they didn't bake up so pale, mine baked for about 35min. They're great as is and even better with marinara sauce to dip into. Next time I may try using some homemade pesto and mozzarella/parmesan filling along with some red pepper flakes. Give this recipe a chance, you won't be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These rolls were really good and very easy to make. Only change I would make would be to use garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I think it would be more consistantly spread throughout the roll. The fresh garlic gave some bites that were very garlicky cause it was difficult to spread evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These rolls are so good!!! I made them with all purpose flour instead of bread flour and they came out great. It took longer for them to rise than the recipe stated. My Italian husband and father-in-law are going to love them:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I did this in my bread machine. After taking out the dough was extremely sticky. I ended up adding another cup of flour. They were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Increasing the butter to 2 tablespoons makes the resulting buns much more tender and not as dry as some complained of. 1.5 teaspoons isn't enough to make a difference. My dough was quite sticky as reviewers also mentioned, but it's normal to have to adjust the flour a bit ~ I usually add in a tbs at a time until it feels just right, which was necessary in this case. I spread 1/4 cup of pizza sauce on the dough instead of softened butter to turn these into pizza buns. 6 cloves of garlic is excessive unless you are a garlic fanatic. I knew my kids would take issue with that amount so to keep it simple I just sprinkled on a little garlic powder instead. These ended up being very tender and flavorful buns. Turning them into pizza pinwheels made them a great (and popular!) snack and lunchbox item for my kids, so I think I'll be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
i just found this recipe tonite and i am going to print this out and make them, but after reading some of the reviews, i am thinking that i am going to use the QUICK AND EASY PIZZA CRUST dough recipe from this website, since the ingredient list for the dough part is so similar. i will report back once i do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
We thought these rolls were fantastic! The seasonings were great, gave it just enough of an Italian flare but none of the ingredients were overpowering. I am a bad roll cutter, I guess, because we got 15 rolls out of it. These were great and I will definitely make again because they were so easy to do, and I always have these ingredients on hand. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made the dough in a bread maker, then finished the recipe as written. The dough was a little sticky, but I was able to work with it. Since I was serving these to company, I cut back on the garlic. If I were to make this recipe again, I think I would add some herbs and powdered garlic to the dough as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I'm going against the grain here, but these were not our favorite. I made these exactly as written... The dough was super sticky and hard to work with, the dough didn't rise much during the first or second rise and they did not have much color to them once they were baked. I also felt that the finished roll was a bit on the dry side. They tasted ok, but not enough that I would want to go through the hassle of making them again. Thanks anyway for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States