Italian Pasta Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Using fresh herbs is what caught my attention with this recipe. I did feel after a taste test that it needed some vinegar, so added in a few generous shakes of white wine vinegar, much better. I grated the cheeses and they were a wonderful addition. I do think some onion and black olives would really take this over the top. Great salad and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Great basic recipe! Gave it 4 stars because I felt it really needed vinegar. I added balsamic. Made this last-minute with what I had on hand. I had lots fresh basil and roma tomatoes from the garden. I also tossed in some carrots and black olives. Used parmesan and shredded mozzarella as I didn't have Asiago. Great way to use just about any veggies you have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is good, but it needs a little something to add a zip. I splashed some balsalmic vinegar to taste and that made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candlebat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I love this pasta salad ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hellokitty:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
VERY tasty! I tool this to a BBQ and everyone LOVED it!! I made it as written and added the juice of one lemon, and a quarter cup of balsamic vinegar. Next time I will also add extra garlic. It was very tasty, but in my opinion needed the lemon and vinegar as without it I found it a tad bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Leaving town again so it's time to clean out the fridge again too, which Hub's staff always appreciates. This salad did a good job of clearing out the vegetable crisper - I added all ingredients to taste and came up with a winner. I appreciate this recipe for the fact it doesn't call for bottled Italian dressing which makes this salad better than those right from the start. I used fresh garlic rather than the jarred and added black olives as well as orange and yellow bell peppers. I also gave it a splash of white wine vinegar. Finally, I wanted something a little smaller than rigatoni so I chose to use penne pasta instead. This is such a great combination of flavors - the olive oil, cheeses and fresh herbs realy make this salad exceptionally good. I think it would be impossible for this to turn out badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great way to use a lot of vegetables. I included the peppers and tomatoes and added zucchini, cucumbers and a little carrot for color with tri-color bowtie pasta. It really soaked up the olive oil, so add a little more before serving. Great left overs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Delicious. My husband loved it, and he usually isnt a huge fan of pasta salads. I didnt put quite as much bell pepper, and oregano to taste. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Great recipe, made a few changes though. I added a cup or so of diced cucumber, as well as a couple cups of broccoli, I poured the hot pasta water over the broccoli to steam... rinsed all in cold water to keep from overcooking pasta and broccoli. Also I added quite a bit less oregano and added in a few TBS of balsamic vinegar to increase the flavor, overall great recipe and delicious summer salad~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I was happy with how this recipe turned out. I substituted Italian seasoning for the oregano and didn't use as much as stated - just until it was covered well. I also used orange, green and red bell peppers for extra color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States