Italian One Step Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Guess I changed this recipe to "Italian More Than One Step Casserole". Instead of throwing everything directly into the oven, I fried the breakfast turkey sausage, red onion, chopped cauliflower(7x8ziplock bag amount),(instead of carrots), and spices in a non-stick frying pan. Added garlic powder and basil, less salt, and more oregano & pepper. While doing this I boiled the potatoes and sprayed the roasting pan with oil. Dumped everything into the pan and topped with canned whole tomatoes, Mozza, and parmesan cheese. Baked covered for 20 minutes. It was juicy, Absolutely delicious. Everyone loved it. Thanks Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Delicious - my husband wants this often! It did take longer to bake than the recipe indicated. Oh, and I've used half sweet potatoes and half white ones - it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
My husband doesn't like tomato chunks, so I substituted a mixture of strained juice from a can of tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste and some leftover taco sauce. This worked very well. Others have suggested adding parmesan cheese. I added some grated parmesan and cheddar for the last 20 minutes, and it was wonderful. I found that I had to cook the casserole for 20 minutes more than the recipe called for, and even then some potatoes were a little crunchy. Overall, a delicious recipe. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2000
I really liked the idea of this recipe but was a little disappointed in the results. It was incredibly easy, which is a big plus. But I found it to be quite bland, and I was much more generous with the Oregano and pepper than the "pinch" of each called for in the recipe. I will more than likely try this one again but alter it somewhat to zip up the flavor, using garlic and possibly seasoned diced tomatoes instead of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was really good. Browned the sausage with the veggies first to make sure they were cooked through. Added garlic and added some parmesan cheese on top which was suggested in another review. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was a hit with my husband, but not my kids (picky eaters). I used spicy Italian sausage and added a lot more garlic and oregano than the recipe called for. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
i used breakfast sausage it came out great but it seemed to make to much the sausage i had it went over the top but it still came out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This was a super easy recipe. I used red potatoes, turkey sausage, green bell peppers instead of carrots, one can of stewed tomatoes, and one can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. This gave it a bit of heat. Cutting the potatoes into smaller cubes reduces the cooking time. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great recipe. It took a long time for the potatoes cook though. Next time I will parboil them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States