Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I was in a hurry, so I deleted the MSG, substituted dried oregano for fresh, and used garlic salt. This was still the most delicious part of the meal. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I make these all the time but cut back on calories and fat by eliminating the olive oil. The tomatoes do not dry out at all. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Really enjoyed this recipe. Fun (easy) to make, and delicious to eat. Like other reviewers, I skipped the MSG (why use this to begin with?!?). And, like another reviewer, I used dried Parmesan cheese (not freshly grated) - so I didn't have that problem of the cooled cheese sliding off the tomato... I served it with "Olive Blasta Pasta" (recipe also on this website) - and it was well received by everyone at our dinner gathering. Yes - I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exnyker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I made this as a side dish to a grilled chicken dinner for dinner with friends. It was so awesome that eveybody's response was almost too much for the dinner table. I used fresh basil and used the jarred parmesan romano combo. I find it melts better and stays soft. This is a wonderful way to use those summer tomatoes. It has a fresh and flavorful taste. The dish is also beautiful if layered when assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I only wish I had had some crusty bread to go with it like another reviewer had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
left out the garlic will try with it next time. It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I have made this many times and it is always so good. A big hit our dinner table! I agree sea salt is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My boyfriend loves these. Some changes that I like to play around with: 1) Experiment with the type and amount of cheese 2) Toss some bread crumbs into the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
awesome recipe. thanks so much. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made lamb chops and needed something different for a side dish. I made this but left out the MSG and I added bread crumbs before sprinkling the parmesan on top. DELICIOUS! Easy prep and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Carmel, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States