Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
use SEA SALT!!!! it is KEY to this recipe, believe it or not!! Try and use fresh tomatoes and you can even use tomatoe halves instead of slices....You may not consider tomatoes as a great side dish or a summer salad but in Italy it is common. I have always made it with tomatoes, sea salt and garlic oil and LOVE it - sometimes adding fresh basil but i am now going to try it with parmesan and a clove of garlic on each tomatoe half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I was in a hurry, so I deleted the MSG, substituted dried oregano for fresh, and used garlic salt. This was still the most delicious part of the meal. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Really enjoyed this recipe. Fun (easy) to make, and delicious to eat. Like other reviewers, I skipped the MSG (why use this to begin with?!?). And, like another reviewer, I used dried Parmesan cheese (not freshly grated) - so I didn't have that problem of the cooled cheese sliding off the tomato... I served it with "Olive Blasta Pasta" (recipe also on this website) - and it was well received by everyone at our dinner gathering. Yes - I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by exnyker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I make something similar, but generally during the summer when the quality of tomatoes is so much better. I also usually just roast them briefly in a hot oven. I have a good amount of Roma tomatoes left over after the Christmas holiday and this was the perfect use for some of them. I went a little lighter on the Parmesan and oregano and added some fresh parsley. Very pretty and very tasty, and I think I actually prefer this method of broiling the tomatoes rather than oven baking them. The topping gets all nice and golden without the tomatoes overcooking. I didn't use the MSG, not necessarily because I have anything against it but because I don't buy it. We really enjoyed this fresh, easy and healthy side dish which also serves as a colorful garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is one of my top ten recipes. I've been making these for years and love them as a snack, side dish or appetizer. Do not put in the MSG, but add a dash of lemon pepper or lemon juice for extra pow. Top with a little mozzarella cheese, then serve on top of some crunchy bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I made this as a side dish to a grilled chicken dinner for dinner with friends. It was so awesome that eveybody's response was almost too much for the dinner table. I used fresh basil and used the jarred parmesan romano combo. I find it melts better and stays soft. This is a wonderful way to use those summer tomatoes. It has a fresh and flavorful taste. The dish is also beautiful if layered when assembling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was good, but I overcooked it so the tomatoes were too mushy and think it would be better with a semisoft cheese on top. It definitely doesn't work with a "melty" cheese on top. Too hard to cut through. Will make again but maybe with a goat cheese? Great use for all those fall tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I didnt use msg and they turned out great! I have to say I didnt actually measure any ingredients, rather, just put on how much I thought I would like. Very nice, quick side dish or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent broiled tomatoes. No MSG, but followed exactly. They were quick to put together and popped them under the broiler right before dinner. I can see the possibilities with different herbs....next time tarragon YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made lamb chops and needed something different for a side dish. I made this but left out the MSG and I added bread crumbs before sprinkling the parmesan on top. DELICIOUS! Easy prep and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Carmel, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States