Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I make these all the time but cut back on calories and fat by eliminating the olive oil. The tomatoes do not dry out at all. Very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
use SEA SALT!!!! it is KEY to this recipe, believe it or not!! Try and use fresh tomatoes and you can even use tomatoe halves instead of slices....You may not consider tomatoes as a great side dish or a summer salad but in Italy it is common. I have always made it with tomatoes, sea salt and garlic oil and LOVE it - sometimes adding fresh basil but i am now going to try it with parmesan and a clove of garlic on each tomatoe half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These were good, but would be better if something was added.. If only I had enough cooking expertise to know what it needs added ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
easy, took longer to cook than mentioned, and tasted ok, but not a great recipe. it was also really harsh on the stomache. make sure not to eat it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was good. A recipe I actually had all the ingredients too, wow! I used dried parmesan and added some mozarella on top. I did it in a toaster oven so it took like 15 minutes to (partially) brown instead of three!!! My cheese started to slide off as it cooled also but i was already halfway through the meal lol. Dont be afraid of the salt and DONT USE MSG! If the food is really good you dont need it and this was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
YUM! The only problem I ran into was that once out from under the broiler for a few minutes the shredded parm I used started to harden and when we went to cut into the tomatoes all the cheese slid off...but wouldn't stop me from enjoying them! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Mouthwatering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This was a quick and easy side dish to the pork chops and mashed potatoes I made for dinner tonight. You can really play around with the ingredients to suit your taste with this recipe. I didn't measure out the seasonings, but rather seasoned to taste. I added some basil and a bit of garlic powder and didn't quite have enough parmesan cheese, but it still turned out very well! Quick, easy, and quite a compliment to any main dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
These made a good side dish along side our tilapia. I used roma tomatoes and skipped the MSG. I didn't measure out the ingredients...just added them until they "looked" good. Thanks Stephen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I was in a hurry, so I deleted the MSG, substituted dried oregano for fresh, and used garlic salt. This was still the most delicious part of the meal. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States