Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent broiled tomatoes. No MSG, but followed exactly. They were quick to put together and popped them under the broiler right before dinner. I can see the possibilities with different herbs....next time tarragon YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made lamb chops and needed something different for a side dish. I made this but left out the MSG and I added bread crumbs before sprinkling the parmesan on top. DELICIOUS! Easy prep and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Carmel, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
awesome recipe. thanks so much. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My boyfriend loves these. Some changes that I like to play around with: 1) Experiment with the type and amount of cheese 2) Toss some bread crumbs into the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I make something similar, but generally during the summer when the quality of tomatoes is so much better. I also usually just roast them briefly in a hot oven. I have a good amount of Roma tomatoes left over after the Christmas holiday and this was the perfect use for some of them. I went a little lighter on the Parmesan and oregano and added some fresh parsley. Very pretty and very tasty, and I think I actually prefer this method of broiling the tomatoes rather than oven baking them. The topping gets all nice and golden without the tomatoes overcooking. I didn't use the MSG, not necessarily because I have anything against it but because I don't buy it. We really enjoyed this fresh, easy and healthy side dish which also serves as a colorful garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
These are excellent! I did not use MSG, but other than that kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought these were amazing, and my husband was equally impressed. I used small tomatoes fresh from the vine, and used all the ingredients but less of them really decreased the oregano, because I did not have fresh, used just a tiny bit of dried. So Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
easy, quick and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I have made this many times and it is always so good. A big hit our dinner table! I agree sea salt is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
left out the garlic will try with it next time. It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States