Italian Nutthouse Broiled Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent broiled tomatoes. No MSG, but followed exactly. They were quick to put together and popped them under the broiler right before dinner. I can see the possibilities with different herbs....next time tarragon YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made lamb chops and needed something different for a side dish. I made this but left out the MSG and I added bread crumbs before sprinkling the parmesan on top. DELICIOUS! Easy prep and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Carmel, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
awesome recipe. thanks so much. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My boyfriend loves these. Some changes that I like to play around with: 1) Experiment with the type and amount of cheese 2) Toss some bread crumbs into the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I make something similar, but generally during the summer when the quality of tomatoes is so much better. I also usually just roast them briefly in a hot oven. I have a good amount of Roma tomatoes left over after the Christmas holiday and this was the perfect use for some of them. I went a little lighter on the Parmesan and oregano and added some fresh parsley. Very pretty and very tasty, and I think I actually prefer this method of broiling the tomatoes rather than oven baking them. The topping gets all nice and golden without the tomatoes overcooking. I didn't use the MSG, not necessarily because I have anything against it but because I don't buy it. We really enjoyed this fresh, easy and healthy side dish which also serves as a colorful garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
These are excellent! I did not use MSG, but other than that kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I thought these were amazing, and my husband was equally impressed. I used small tomatoes fresh from the vine, and used all the ingredients but less of them really decreased the oregano, because I did not have fresh, used just a tiny bit of dried. So Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
easy, quick and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I have made this many times and it is always so good. A big hit our dinner table! I agree sea salt is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
left out the garlic will try with it next time. It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Oven-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make flavorful dried plum tomatoes in the oven.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States