Italian Meatloaf in Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Made it for the 1st time tonight. I doubled up on the recipe because I had my parents eating over too. I also added a couple of other ingredients to.make it my own. My husband loved it. My picky kids loved it as well as my parents! Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This was a wonderful recipe. Like the others, I added and subtracted a few things. First, I used three medium zucchini which used up all the meat mixture perfectly. I omitted the garlic salt and used garlic powder instead. I omitted the carrot and added 2 teaspoons Italian seasoning. I also used finely chopped raw onion instead of cooked. Most importantly, I used ground pork instead of ground beef and it worked wonderfully. There was no grease whatsoever. Finally, I cooked the zucchini in two separate pans on racks. The racks helped the hot air circulate under the zucchini and cooked them evenly. I had no trouble having them cook through. It did take about an hour and a half. Finally, I lined the pans with foil and this helped tremendously with cleanup. I'll certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mulligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This turned out really well! Great tasting meatloaf and tender zucchini went better together more than I thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Outstanding! Added a few extra spices, but over all great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I thought this was great....made changes though. Was gifted a huge zucchini the other day and cleaned and cut this into 6 pieces hence six boats. I would have also used the pulp in the mixture but it was too seedy. I did use extra lean ground chicken, used only 1 tblspn of evoo to sautee my onion, garlic and I also added sliced mushrooms to that. Along with the carrot, I added half a red pepper and pulsed those through the food processor. This was quite a meatloaf mix and I used whole wheat Italian crumbs, and added some pecorino romano cheese. Now before stuffing these boats, I did pre-cook the boats at 375 for about 45 min to soften. I then stuffed them with the meat/veggie mixture. When these were done, I then added sliced deli mozzarella and topped with a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. These were delicious and very healthy, moist and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These were a hit! All 3 of my children liked them! I used ground turkey and browned that first. Then mixed with all the other ingredients. I also baked the zucchini in the oven for awhile before stuffing them. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
My family LOVED this thanks to all of the reviewers suggestions. The zucchini I used was about 14" long & 4" diameter at the widest part. I used minced garlic only, not garlic salt. I also substituted 1 lb. ground bison & Bob's Red Mill Oat bran for the sirloin & Italian crumbs. Less sat. fat & more fiber, plus I'm gluten sensitive. I also only added a couple Tb. of Parmesan & left out the mozzarella, just sprinkling a tiny bit on top the last 5 min of cooking. Instead of spaghetti sauce I used diced tomatoes with more minced garlic, oregano, Italian seasoning & a pinch of red pepper flakes. I cooked it at 400 degrees for 60 minutes & left it to rest for 15 minutes before cutting it. This will be a summer staple in our house. Family, friends & neighbors can give me there overgrown zucchini any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was a really good twist on meatloaf. I used ground chicken instead and it worked wonderfully. I also added two dashes of cinnamon. I had to use several smaller Zucchini since there were no large ones at my store. I think in the future I might just make it a normal meatloaf and shred the zucchini in like I did the carrots. Great recipe though. If I can find a large zucchini I will definitely take this approach again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
We really liked this, a good way to get in a few more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States