Italian Meatloaf in Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This turned out really well! Great tasting meatloaf and tender zucchini went better together more than I thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Outstanding! Added a few extra spices, but over all great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I thought this was great....made changes though. Was gifted a huge zucchini the other day and cleaned and cut this into 6 pieces hence six boats. I would have also used the pulp in the mixture but it was too seedy. I did use extra lean ground chicken, used only 1 tblspn of evoo to sautee my onion, garlic and I also added sliced mushrooms to that. Along with the carrot, I added half a red pepper and pulsed those through the food processor. This was quite a meatloaf mix and I used whole wheat Italian crumbs, and added some pecorino romano cheese. Now before stuffing these boats, I did pre-cook the boats at 375 for about 45 min to soften. I then stuffed them with the meat/veggie mixture. When these were done, I then added sliced deli mozzarella and topped with a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. These were delicious and very healthy, moist and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These were a hit! All 3 of my children liked them! I used ground turkey and browned that first. Then mixed with all the other ingredients. I also baked the zucchini in the oven for awhile before stuffing them. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
My family LOVED this thanks to all of the reviewers suggestions. The zucchini I used was about 14" long & 4" diameter at the widest part. I used minced garlic only, not garlic salt. I also substituted 1 lb. ground bison & Bob's Red Mill Oat bran for the sirloin & Italian crumbs. Less sat. fat & more fiber, plus I'm gluten sensitive. I also only added a couple Tb. of Parmesan & left out the mozzarella, just sprinkling a tiny bit on top the last 5 min of cooking. Instead of spaghetti sauce I used diced tomatoes with more minced garlic, oregano, Italian seasoning & a pinch of red pepper flakes. I cooked it at 400 degrees for 60 minutes & left it to rest for 15 minutes before cutting it. This will be a summer staple in our house. Family, friends & neighbors can give me there overgrown zucchini any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was a really good twist on meatloaf. I used ground chicken instead and it worked wonderfully. I also added two dashes of cinnamon. I had to use several smaller Zucchini since there were no large ones at my store. I think in the future I might just make it a normal meatloaf and shred the zucchini in like I did the carrots. Great recipe though. If I can find a large zucchini I will definitely take this approach again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
We really liked this, a good way to get in a few more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
meat loaf was great, used spaghetti squash... increased cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved this. I only had sausage, but it worked well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is "ok" as is. I made it exactly as the recipe says. The second time making it i added a few things of my own. Red pepper flakes, extra garlic (a heaping teaspoon), parsley flakes, and oregano. I only used half of the olive oil to saute the onion and garlic... the original recipe calls for way too much olive oil. Also, for this amount of meat, i needed two zucchini's, to make four boats. When i seeded and scooped out the zucchinis i chopped up the zucchini innards and added it to the meatloaf mixture... extra helping of veggies for a little bonus of healthy goodness and couldn't even tell it was in there. Otherwise, this is a great recipe. Just a little bland for our taste, but with a few minor additions it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States