Italian Meatloaf in Zucchini Boats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This turned out really well! Great tasting meatloaf and tender zucchini went better together more than I thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Outstanding! Added a few extra spices, but over all great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I thought this was great....made changes though. Was gifted a huge zucchini the other day and cleaned and cut this into 6 pieces hence six boats. I would have also used the pulp in the mixture but it was too seedy. I did use extra lean ground chicken, used only 1 tblspn of evoo to sautee my onion, garlic and I also added sliced mushrooms to that. Along with the carrot, I added half a red pepper and pulsed those through the food processor. This was quite a meatloaf mix and I used whole wheat Italian crumbs, and added some pecorino romano cheese. Now before stuffing these boats, I did pre-cook the boats at 375 for about 45 min to soften. I then stuffed them with the meat/veggie mixture. When these were done, I then added sliced deli mozzarella and topped with a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. These were delicious and very healthy, moist and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These were a hit! All 3 of my children liked them! I used ground turkey and browned that first. Then mixed with all the other ingredients. I also baked the zucchini in the oven for awhile before stuffing them. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
My family LOVED this thanks to all of the reviewers suggestions. The zucchini I used was about 14" long & 4" diameter at the widest part. I used minced garlic only, not garlic salt. I also substituted 1 lb. ground bison & Bob's Red Mill Oat bran for the sirloin & Italian crumbs. Less sat. fat & more fiber, plus I'm gluten sensitive. I also only added a couple Tb. of Parmesan & left out the mozzarella, just sprinkling a tiny bit on top the last 5 min of cooking. Instead of spaghetti sauce I used diced tomatoes with more minced garlic, oregano, Italian seasoning & a pinch of red pepper flakes. I cooked it at 400 degrees for 60 minutes & left it to rest for 15 minutes before cutting it. This will be a summer staple in our house. Family, friends & neighbors can give me there overgrown zucchini any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was a really good twist on meatloaf. I used ground chicken instead and it worked wonderfully. I also added two dashes of cinnamon. I had to use several smaller Zucchini since there were no large ones at my store. I think in the future I might just make it a normal meatloaf and shred the zucchini in like I did the carrots. Great recipe though. If I can find a large zucchini I will definitely take this approach again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
We really liked this, a good way to get in a few more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
meat loaf was great, used spaghetti squash... increased cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I loved this. I only had sausage, but it worked well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is "ok" as is. I made it exactly as the recipe says. The second time making it i added a few things of my own. Red pepper flakes, extra garlic (a heaping teaspoon), parsley flakes, and oregano. I only used half of the olive oil to saute the onion and garlic... the original recipe calls for way too much olive oil. Also, for this amount of meat, i needed two zucchini's, to make four boats. When i seeded and scooped out the zucchinis i chopped up the zucchini innards and added it to the meatloaf mixture... extra helping of veggies for a little bonus of healthy goodness and couldn't even tell it was in there. Otherwise, this is a great recipe. Just a little bland for our taste, but with a few minor additions it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States