Italian Meatball and Cheese Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I've been making this soup for years, glad to see someone posted it so others will know of it's greatness. Wonderful soup, not only quick but filling. Only difference when I make it is I used homemade beef stock and omit the beans/double the kale. This increases well to feed whoever shows up, just add more broth and throw in more veggies. Best with a homemade crusty bread or beer bread. NOTE: You can use almost any kind of meatballs you like. I prefer an italian-seasoned meatball that I've made myself with ground chuck and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Excellent recipe. Used Olive Oil instead of butter, omitted the carrots, and used chicken stock instead of beef. Fantastic! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe is one of my new favorites. I have already made it twice and have gotten rave reviews on it. The only thing I did different was to use thawed frozen tortellini instead of fresh. It is less expensive and I can keep it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Really good, and pretty too! Love the kale- a rare indredient in Ohio cooking, and so healthy! I subbed some fresh mushrooms for the beans and otherwise left it unchanged. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
wow this is amazing!!!! i doubled the kale amount because i had extra and there wasnt enough green and I also used only 3/4 the amount of onion. THIS IS SOOO GOOD and there is alot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I love this soup! The meatballs give it a fantastic flavor and the tortellini is perfect addition (I used the dried Barilla bags found in the pasta isle). I didn't have much time so I just threw everything into the pot to simmer and it came out great. And you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. My whole family (including my picky children) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very tasty! I used the dried tomato pasta - flat noodles instead of the tortellini. My husband doesn't like the riccotta cheese. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
My whole family loved this- will definitely make it again! I made a few changes to the recipe- I doubled the tortellini (tortellinis are a family favorite!), I left out the kale, and substituted frozen green peas for the beans. Also, since I used a low sodium beef stock I added about 2 tsp. salt. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I made it for our families Christmas soup supper and everyone loved it!! I put it all in a crock-pot for a few hours and then just cooked and added the tortellini before we were ready to eat. I left the kale out because it just didn't appeal to me. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reedley, California, USA
Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I loved this, DH & DS really liked but didn't love as much as I did but they wouldn't mind having it again - which is good because I definitely want to have it again! Followed recipe exactly - except for using frozen tortellini. It was pretty easy too - good choice for a work night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States