Italian Meatball and Cheese Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I've been making this soup for years, glad to see someone posted it so others will know of it's greatness. Wonderful soup, not only quick but filling. Only difference when I make it is I used homemade beef stock and omit the beans/double the kale. This increases well to feed whoever shows up, just add more broth and throw in more veggies. Best with a homemade crusty bread or beer bread. NOTE: You can use almost any kind of meatballs you like. I prefer an italian-seasoned meatball that I've made myself with ground chuck and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Make you use tortellini that you like because this was really good but i didn'y like my brand of tortellini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Excellent recipe. Used Olive Oil instead of butter, omitted the carrots, and used chicken stock instead of beef. Fantastic! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This recipe is one of my new favorites. I have already made it twice and have gotten rave reviews on it. The only thing I did different was to use thawed frozen tortellini instead of fresh. It is less expensive and I can keep it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Very easy and tasted good. Couple of changes due to what I had on hand, I eliminated the beans, carrots and Kale and added a box of frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Really good, and pretty too! Love the kale- a rare indredient in Ohio cooking, and so healthy! I subbed some fresh mushrooms for the beans and otherwise left it unchanged. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
wow this is amazing!!!! i doubled the kale amount because i had extra and there wasnt enough green and I also used only 3/4 the amount of onion. THIS IS SOOO GOOD and there is alot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I love this soup! The meatballs give it a fantastic flavor and the tortellini is perfect addition (I used the dried Barilla bags found in the pasta isle). I didn't have much time so I just threw everything into the pot to simmer and it came out great. And you can use whatever veggies you have on hand. My whole family (including my picky children) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very tasty! I used the dried tomato pasta - flat noodles instead of the tortellini. My husband doesn't like the riccotta cheese. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Made it twice: first time as written, second time wanting more flavor + a few of my faves. The second time I used my homemade meatballs, subbed green beas for a can of rinsed northern beans, and 3 good handfuls of baby spinach instead of kale. Still missing a lil something for my taste, so on the third go round Im going to try a can of tomato sauce, too :) Makes ALOT of soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States