Italian Meatball Sandwich Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Oh my goodness, this was delicious!!! I think the only modification I made was to cut my french bread in half (top to bottom) and top it with the meatball mixture rather than cut the bread into cubes (that just seemed to be a lot of unnecessary work). This was so creamy and indulgent and I absolutely loved it! I think I would like to try making it with Italian sausage rather than ground beef, but either way, great recipe that we will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Like most everyone else I omitted the mayo and went with ricotta. I was well received and will definitely do again. Probably add green and banana pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
the casserole was just OK but the meatballs were pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was delicious. I read a ton of reviews and changed the following 3 things: I omitted the water completely, swapped the mayo out for ricotta cheese and toasted the bread in the baking dish before topping it with the cheese/sauce. The bread was still soft but not overly mushy. Everyone cleaned their plates and wanted more (good thing this makes plenty!) Will make this again, definitely (I want to try Garlic Texas Toast next time) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I used ground turkey meat instead of hamburger and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I omit the water and brown the bread cubes (or slices of bread.) I've also used precooked frozen Italian meatballs. My kids like it on occasion. I love it but it's too fattening for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
So easy to make, everyone loved it. and it holds up just fine as leftovers. The family enjoyed some a couple days later again. My shortcut: I used frozen meatballs and loaf of pre-spread garlic bread to save time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyOki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
We did not enjoy this casserole. The bread was way too soggy on the bottom. Both my son and husband love meatball sandwiches and this was not even close. I will definitely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This was just great!! Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I liked this a lot. I've read about the soggy bread, but imho that's the best part of the dish: bread dogged with taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States