Italian Meat Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this and it was phenomenal! The family loved it. I added 3 tbsp each of fresh thyme, fresh oregano and, fresh basil, upped the garlic by two cloves, and used a separate meatball recipe substituting rolled oats for the bread crumbs. I also added a dash of cinnamon. I will make again some day. It took 3 hours to prep, so it will be awhile until I make it again. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I cut back on the water by a cup and added in a cup of quality red wine. I made no other changes. The recipe did not specify how long to let the sauce simmer, I basically let it simmer most of the afternoon. My family raved about this meat sauce--we all thought this was absolutely delicious. It was simple to make but it really fools you into thinking you cooked all day when the stove does all the work for you. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Very good sauce and enjoyable to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I like this recipe,have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Fantastic recipe, turned out great. I did make some minor adjustments. I did the sausage and pork, but went with ground beef instead of meatballs for convenience sake. I only had 2 cans of diced tomatoes, so I went with 2 cans of each of the diced and tomato sauce and just four cans of tomato paste. With roughly 1.5 hours remaining, I added a big can of tomato puree to make up for the missing cans. I stayed with the recipe on spices, except I added a tablespoon of sugar and a 3 tablespoons of garlic/onion spice mix. I also added pepperoni, 2 green peppers, and mushrooms (and extra minced garlic), none of which were called for in the recipe. Other minor changes: I chopped the onion in to bigger slices instead of small. I used shredded parmesan as a substitute for romano, which I did not have on hand. All in all, the changes worked out well. I thought it tasted great, and my girlfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
It's surprising that this recipe hasn't gotten more action here. I see that about a thousand people have saved it, but there are only 8 reviews. This is really an excellent recipe. If you disagree, it means you haven't yet made it, or you accidentally blended in paint thinner. I like to replace most of the meats with turkey versions, which i've convinced myself is completely healthy. It's still some of the best pasta sauce i've ever had. Be careful with the servings listed. I found that the "12" it lists would have to be pretty generous portions. In any case, if you're looking for a meaty red sauce, there is none better than this one. Make it once as is, and then experiment - you're certain to fall upon something that your family, or friends, or random people you drag in off the street will walk away from the table with a smile - most likely discovering that they ate WAY more than they had planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
If I had five thumbs, that's what I would give. Changed nothing and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
GREAT!!! Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
wow!!! this sauce it the best!! didnt change a thing and it was 4 pumps to the good! freeze the leftovers it is alot thanks, Justin Simmons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great sauce! The only thing I did differently was to use uncooked quick oats (oatmeal) instead of the bread crumbs. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States