Italian Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Ok for a helpfully tip use a cup of ketchup it won't be dry and will taste better I know that for people making meat loaf for the first time use ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Tried this recipe last night and I found it to be incredibly dry and didn't have a good flavor. The time and temperature are accurate but it needs more liquid in the mixture, my husband said maybe more cheese of some sort would help. I think less breadcrumbs would help as well, it overpowered the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpbenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanahan, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made a few changes based on other reviews. I decreased the bread crumbs in half, added 1/2 cup ketchup and added a ketchup/mustard/brown sugar glaze in top to keep it moist. It was delicious and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this for the second time- way too many dry ingredients- I used 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef- decreased the bread crumbs and parmesan to a 1/4 cup and also added a 1/4 cup of milk- it came out juicy and flavorful and my husband said I nailed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Really yummy! My kiddos liked it too and they don't like regular meatloaf :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn Eggers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I agree with other reviewers who said there were too many bread crumbs. I think if the bread crumbs were cut in half, this recipe would be greatly improved. Also, I added some chopped onions for additional flavor, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I only made a little change on this recipe--I increased the italian seasoning considerably and I added a teaspoon each of onion and garlic powders. This turned out a dry, crumbly loaf that I was unable to serve as actual meat loaf. You can imagine how disappointed I was. I turned a minus into a plus and made it into a quick meat sauce with a homemade marinara. For future reviewers, if you want this to be a meat loaf, you may want to add more liquid or cut back the dry ingredients at least by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
If you're using lean ground beef add 1/2 cup water to moisten. I also substitute seasoned salt and cayenne pepper for a bit more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Way too many bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
excellent. i did make changes. only used 1 cup of bread crumbs and added different spices along with the ones in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Nareski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States