Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I made this recipe several times and found that the quality of the cake mix makes all the difference - some of them are just better-tasting than others (I personally liked Betty Crocker German Chocolate). At first I was concerned that the cake will not bake through, but during the baking ricotta layer sinks into the cake-mix layer and in fact the cake comes out with the chocolate layer on top. Once I made a half of the recipe in 8x8 form with about 3/4 of the ricotta and it also was good, just a bit dryer (which some might even prefer). Most of all I like the frosting idea and have even used it on other cakes and desserts. Thanks Rene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I absolutely love this recipe! It is my new favorite as a fancier birthday cake or party dessert. I would recommend making it the night before you plan to eat it, though. I made it the day of and the cream/pudding topping didn't have a chance to set as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marlboro, New York, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I made this for a dinner party and I cannot tell you how much everyone loved it! It is certainly a cake that looks a lot harder to make than it really is. The only thing I changed was I used fresh whipping cream instead of the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZZYD1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
WOW!!! This is GREAT! So easy to make and so good. The ricotta cheese is not too rich and a perfect addition. The frosting is an amazing idea! Not too sugary and so versatile. I could see using it on many different cakes and pies. I used non fat milk and light whipped topping and you would never know! Everyone raved about the cake, ate all of it and asked for the recipe, what more could you ask for. Thank you Rene for a truly wonderful cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I made this cake for a Christmas gathering, I should have made two. Everyone loved it!!!! Thank you so much for the posting. It's my new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I have made this cake 3 x everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
This is an awesome recipe!! I run a large retirement community for seniors and once a month we have a bake sale and bake competition. Normally, I just bring cookies --boring-- then I found this recipe- I should have made 3 cakes- and I won the competition! My seniors ate this cake like it was going out of style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I made this for a wedding shower and everyone went crazy for it. People were eating two or three pieces and asking to take some home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
AWESOME! This receipe went up against a receipe that has been handed down through generations of a very Italian family. This receipe won their hearts and tastebuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Very good, the ricotta layer sinks and divides the chocolate cake into two layers. Its makes a great looking presentation. Next time I'll use real cream in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States