Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
As per other Posters, after preparing this cake I put saran wrap over the cake and put the pudding topping on the cake the next day.You can also put the pudding on the cake but be sure to put it in the Fridge. The 2nd, 3rd and even 4th day was even better. However, I very rarely have any left after the 1st day! It was simply awesome. All the flavors from the cake stay moist and the taste of the ricotta cheese was not overwhelming. I think this cake is better the next day and the 3rd day after making this cake. The key is letting the cake really set before serving. My kids loved this cake but hated the taste just after preparing it. I know we were anxious to taste it. Letting it sit in the fridge for 24 hours is worth the wait! This is a great cake to make for a function the next day. I recommend not frosting the cake until the next day. I sometimes add a little heavy cream. Part Milk/Part cream to the pudding mix. Love it! I will make this again and again! I have made this 5 times and it has simply been a hit each time. I am making another one tonight for the Office tommorrow! Thank You! Thank You! Just Awesome! I have also posted a picture of the Cake too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I've been making this cake for years, it's awesome!! My grandma used to make it when I was a kid. I just made this cake the other day using Lemon cake mix and lemon pudding in the frosting...AWESOME!! If u love lemon oh you gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is one of the BEST cakes I have ever made. I was a little leary because the reviewers either loved or hated it...no in between. I had to make dessert for the bosses birthday, and tried this. She loved it, and so did the rest of my coworkers. I did make it the day before and frost the day we served it. The frosting in of iteself is delicious and I know I will use this on other desserts. I was afraid that the ricotta mixture wouldn't sink, but it did. It had beautiful presence and everyone was wowed. Definately one of the moistest cakes to date. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is a richly delicious and impressive cake. Even though it got rave reviews from the people who ate it, I thought the ricotta cheese part was too wet. Next time I will decrease the eggs to 3 instead of 4 and drain the excess liquid from the ricotta cheese before mixing. The pudding/whipped topping icing tasted like chocolate mousse! Yum! Yum! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This cake was very different and delicious ! I made it "light" by using fat-free ricotta, which worked out fine, and Lite Cool Whip and skim milk. The ricotta filling sinks to the middle of the cake as it bakes and makes a "layered" look like a devil dog. I baked the cake (in metal pan) at 350 for just under an hour and it came out perfect. I cooled it for 15 minutes, removed it from pan to a serving platter, covered it w/ Saran Wrap and refrigerated it over night to set before frosting it. (The bottom looked alittle "wet" from the filling sinking through the cake when I removed it from the pan, but, after refrigerating it it seemed to evaporate and just make the cake moister.....not soggy at all, which is what I worried about !!) The frosting is light and delicious like chocolate mousse. I decorated the cake after frosting it with chocolate chips, but I think shaved chocolate & white chocolate from a candy bar would look even better. I will mkae this again. It's easy and very quick and perfect for a special occasion without spending all day baking and preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I made this recipe several times and found that the quality of the cake mix makes all the difference - some of them are just better-tasting than others (I personally liked Betty Crocker German Chocolate). At first I was concerned that the cake will not bake through, but during the baking ricotta layer sinks into the cake-mix layer and in fact the cake comes out with the chocolate layer on top. Once I made a half of the recipe in 8x8 form with about 3/4 of the ricotta and it also was good, just a bit dryer (which some might even prefer). Most of all I like the frosting idea and have even used it on other cakes and desserts. Thanks Rene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessJenna
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I had it once years ago at Mike's Pastry in the North End of Boston and was never able to find it again, at Mike's or anywhere else!! I'm so grateful I found this recipe!!Made with Devils Food cake mix and pudding, half and half instead of milk and whole milk ricotta. Loved it! Definitely got better after a couple days. I might try the lemon idea next. And for those who don't know (I didn't!), 2 pints is one of the BIG containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I absolutely love this recipe! It is my new favorite as a fancier birthday cake or party dessert. I would recommend making it the night before you plan to eat it, though. I made it the day of and the cream/pudding topping didn't have a chance to set as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marlboro, New York, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Very good, the ricotta layer sinks and divides the chocolate cake into two layers. Its makes a great looking presentation. Next time I'll use real cream in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Cake was fabulous. Big hit at the party I took it too. I added mini chocolate chips to the top to give it a little bit of added sweetness. I cooked it in a metal pan, I think I will use a glass pan next time, as it wasn't as moist as I would have liked it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elissa s

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayo, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States