Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I absolutely love this recipe! It is my new favorite as a fancier birthday cake or party dessert. I would recommend making it the night before you plan to eat it, though. I made it the day of and the cream/pudding topping didn't have a chance to set as well as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marlboro, New York, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
This cake is very delicious. Also my boyfriend loves to eat the cake when I bake it, even our whole family loves to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This is a great recipe,i really enjoyed it!Moist,not too sweet.It went really fast!I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
I served this cake to two of my friends, and both said it was a winner. I agree. It was the first cake i've made in years, and I was proud to say I baked it. It was so easy to make, and it came out so moist. The ricitta cheese really makes this cake. I baked it it a springform pan, and that way I could frost the whole cake, top and sides. I also addes one half teaspoon almond extract, I like the combination of vanilla and almond flavors. Great recipe, i'd recommend it to all, especially those who are just starting out at baking cakes. I'd love to know where you got the recipe, let us know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Excellent light, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
The perfect ending to a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This cake is absolutely beautiful in presentation! The flavor is unexpected, not sweet at all. You really can't taste the cheese. Make sure cake is completely cool before frosting w/CoolWhip and Pudding. Will make again. This is a "chick" cake. Ginny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I made this for a dinner party and I cannot tell you how much everyone loved it! It is certainly a cake that looks a lot harder to make than it really is. The only thing I changed was I used fresh whipping cream instead of the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZZYD1219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
WOW!!! This is GREAT! So easy to make and so good. The ricotta cheese is not too rich and a perfect addition. The frosting is an amazing idea! Not too sugary and so versatile. I could see using it on many different cakes and pies. I used non fat milk and light whipped topping and you would never know! Everyone raved about the cake, ate all of it and asked for the recipe, what more could you ask for. Thank you Rene for a truly wonderful cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I made this cake for a Christmas gathering, I should have made two. Everyone loved it!!!! Thank you so much for the posting. It's my new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States