Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The best thing was the topping. I consider myself a better than average baker, and this was the pitts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made this cake for Easter and it was a hit. Very impressed with presentation and a nice blend of textures and flavors. Will definitely make again but would substitute either a real whipped cream topping or possibly a fruit topping. Didn't like the 'chocolate mousse' topping. Otherwise loved it: simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIASIMBA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
The cake was good, but dry. Baking it for 90 minutes was way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this as a two layer lemon cake, which turned out awesome, except there was two much batter for two pans! I made it again as a chocolate 3 layer for a bake sale, and got so many complimens on it; pretty presentation and scrumptious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
i needed a recipe to use up some ricotta i had but i must admit that i was afraid of making this one. yet this was actually a pleasant surprise! the boys and the hubby ate it all up and we're not big fans of sweets (maybe that's why we liked it) i did make some changes to the frosting: i whipped the cream myself and added more chocolate. next time i will make the chocolate cake from scratch instead of using a boxed mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindinha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
75 minutes is way too long to bake this cake. I took mine out before that and it was already done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
If using "pyrex" glass pan,cake & cheese mix will fill pan when cooked leaving no room for topping. If u make this, do NOT eat it warm as it's at its worst then. Much better cold. Also, the ricotta mix needs more sugar. It's gone from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very easy to make and delicious too! Let it set overnight and added the whipped topping the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was really good, light and just yummy, will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
For some reason the cheese layer didn't sink to the bottom on mine. Got lot of compliements, still had a lot leftover. I and many others loved the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States