Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was a very good tasting cake. I had no problem getting the white layer to sink, just pour from a few inches higher. A+ & we're picky about chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is an awesome cake. When I look at the picture here, I wonder how you get your frosting to stay so firm. Mine kind of glops over, but it is still delicious. The ONLY thing I changed was I added pink food coloring to the ricotta mixture. That way, it looks more like love (sigh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
In the words of my son "OHHHHH-EMMMMMM-GEEEEE!" This cake is my far my favorite...ever! I don't even want to look at the Nutrition Facts! Anyway....I made this with a marble cake because I am not a HUGE chocolate fan, other than that, I followed the directions exactly, and this cake is to die for! I have had it before, but it's been a while, and I had lost the recipe! So glad I found it here! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Anna Maria Giordano
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This cake was good but it was missing a bit of a kick. I made this cake 2 times one was the recipe and the second one I added a bit of vermute in the ricotta mixture and it came out AWSOME. I added a teaspoon just to give it an extra kick. My hubby enjoyed it so much he wants me to make it for Father's day. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Maria Giordano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Made exactly as stated in recipe. The cake part was dry, the white cheese filling too salty, and overall lacked "depth" of flavor. It was improved after 2-3 days of chilling, but still not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alby
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
It's okay, but there's nothing special about it. Also, my cheese didn't sink, but it ended up being fine that way--I had baked it in two round pans...so when I stacked them on top of each other, I had a beautiful marbled appearance. I also put it on a glass pedestal and decorated it with violets and cherry blossoms, so presentation was paramount for me. (See the uploaded pictures of my cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The best thing was the topping. I consider myself a better than average baker, and this was the pitts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made this cake for Easter and it was a hit. Very impressed with presentation and a nice blend of textures and flavors. Will definitely make again but would substitute either a real whipped cream topping or possibly a fruit topping. Didn't like the 'chocolate mousse' topping. Otherwise loved it: simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giasimba
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
The cake was good, but dry. Baking it for 90 minutes was way too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, Michigan, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this as a two layer lemon cake, which turned out awesome, except there was two much batter for two pans! I made it again as a chocolate 3 layer for a bake sale, and got so many complimens on it; pretty presentation and scrumptious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States