Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
If using "pyrex" glass pan,cake & cheese mix will fill pan when cooked leaving no room for topping. If u make this, do NOT eat it warm as it's at its worst then. Much better cold. Also, the ricotta mix needs more sugar. It's gone from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very easy to make and delicious too! Let it set overnight and added the whipped topping the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was really good, light and just yummy, will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
For some reason the cheese layer didn't sink to the bottom on mine. Got lot of compliements, still had a lot leftover. I and many others loved the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I recently made this cake for my daycare staff. We had a celebration for two year anniversary! It was a HUGE hit and my girls are fussy!! I changed absolutely nothing! However I should have changed how much I made because everyone wanted to eat some AND take some home with them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Way too long to cook. Very dry. Ricotta did not sink. I even made it the day before. I was thankful that everyone had so much dinner they were too full for dessert. Would have been very embarrassing. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unabober
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I gave this one 5 stars based on the reactions I got from everyone who tried it. The thing most people liked was that it wasn't overly sweet. I personally thought that the ricotta mix could have been sweeter, but it was still very good and everybody who tried it loved it. I used DH dark chocolate cake mix and like other reviewers suggested, upped the sugar to about 1 1/4 Cups and used about 1 1/2 teaspoons Almond extract instead of vanilla. I left the cake in the 9 X 13 pan and covered with foil and put in the fridge for about 16 hours. Cake set perfectly and came out of the pan with no problems. It should be noted that the recipe makes a ton of the icing. I didn't put on an overly thick layer and had enough left over for probably another half of a cake. I also decided to make mine soud a little more classy by calling it "Torta di Amore"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Made as written. I think the cake was dry & it didnt seem to make much difference in the flavor with the Ricotta. I will try again only sweeten up the Ricotta and cook for 10-15 Minutes less. The frosting is really good, tastes like Chocolate Ice Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
If you haven't made this cake you don't know what your missing out on. Awesome is the only word to say. Have made this many times and rarely is there any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I followed the advice of a previous person and used yellow cake mix and added mini choco chips to the ricotta. I made it this way because my Italian Mother In Law & my husband aren't big on chocolate. They thought it was very good! I will try it another time using marble or chocolate cake mix. This one is a keeper! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States