Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i gave it full stars even though mine didn't turn out well since it was my own rookie mistake. thought i could run cottage cheese through the food processor and substitute for ricotta like i often do with lasagna. didn't work the same in a cake recipe though! cake turned out an odd spongy consistency- it was okay, still cake afterall, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Made the filling with 3 eggs, used 1 and 1/2 pints ricotta and 8 oz cream cheese, used almond extract in place of vanilla. Replaced the water in the cake mix with espresso. Baking time given for metal pan is 90 minutes. that's way too long, cake was overdone at 60 minutes, not burned, but very dry corners. The ricotta filling did not sink, stayed on top of the cake, but as it gets covered by the pudding/whipped topping frosting, it now looks like a beautiful 3 decker cake. Next time, divide the cake batter : half in the pan, followed with the ricotta filling, then top off with the other half of the batter. Unlike everyone else, I tasted this after it had cooled for 30 minutes and thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this cake 2 days ago and its gone. I however tasted it yesterday and it didn't taste the same as it did today. The cake sitting for 24 hours made a huge difference. I used choc fudge cake and choc fudge pudding mix. I wish that the ricotta layer was a bit sweeter... next time I will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This turns a regular old cake mix cake into something delicious. Very easy for large groups. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I was very disappointed with this cake. The ricotta layer is boring and flavorless. I was not expecting it to be so tasteless. The next day the cake got very moist almost to the point of soggy. No one ate any of this. The reason I gave it 2 stars is because of the frosting. I really liked that and will use it again. But this cake is not something I recommend and will be deleted from my recipe box. And that is rare for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Diana H.
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this cake for a birthday. It was a BIG hit....I followed the recipe exactly as shown. The cake was moist, spongy and simply delicious. Super easy to make and I will be making this again. Thanks for the AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Everyone in the house loved this!!! Even my 14 yr old son whoo is very picky....Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I love this cake and it looks like it took a skilled baker to make it. Bu,t we all know how easy it is to prepare and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.J. Mills

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Minot Afb, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a wonderful and easy cake. I used 2 eggs instead of 4 in the ricotta and it is wonderful. Wrapping the cooled cake in plastic wrap overnight does make a good difference. I made a cream cheese chocolate and hazelnut frosting. It is really rich and impressive, but so easy! Everyone loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This was a very good tasting cake. I had no problem getting the white layer to sink, just pour from a few inches higher. A+ & we're picky about chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States