Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
So-so! but the recipe makes more than 1 9X13 dish. My son didn't really care for this and niether did my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yummy Yummy!!! I've been making this cake for years and just recently found the recipe here with the change of chocolate cake instead of using yellow cake and needless to say that no matter what we do with chocolate is always good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Easy, Easy, Easy! GREAT "make-ahead" dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I would've added more sugar to the ricotta cheese because that layer was just kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I belong to an organization that has several bake sales a year. This cake is requested everytime and the first to leave the bake sale table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I was really hoping that since this cake has gotten some great reviews that we would love it, however, my family, who are big into sweets mind you, wouldn't eat it. I personally did not think the ricotta cheese filling was sweet enough and I couldn't get past it's texture. Oh well...win some you lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Blankenship

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Enon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Everyone at the party LOVED this cake and asked for the recipe. I did as other reviewers suggested and made the cake the day before then iced it an hour before the party and put it back in the fridge. I used powdered sugar in the ricotta filling and doubled the amount as others suggested it wasn't sweet enough. I had extra large eggs so I only used 3 in the filling. The filling sunk into the cake nicely and I baked it for 60 minutes in a metal pan. Perfect! I also used 16 oz of whipped topping since I didn't want to have extra in the fridge. I will make this MANY more times. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Fantastic! Can't believe how good this is and so EASY! I used Grande brand Sopraffina super fine style ricotta and dark choc fudge cake mix. I took the advice of other reviewers and only used 3 eggs in the cheese mixture. The frosting is delicious but the cake is yummy without it too. FYI --- 2 pints = 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is kinda a "hmmmmm...?" for me. I followed recipe exactly except subbed cold coffee for the water in my cake mix. I read in the reviews to pour the cheese filling from quite high above so that it would sink into the cake batter -that did not seem to work for me. Some of it sank, some stayed on top. The cheese filling that stayed on top cracked open during baking like a cheese cake so my unfrosted cake was pretty funny looking. The baking time is off, for my oven anyway, which is usually pretty spot on. I baked it in a glass dish & checked after 1 hr and it was a tad overdone with the edges starting to dry out. The mousse topping is wonderful, the cheese filling is good, but could use a little more sugar I think. Overall its a nice cake, but not sure if I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I have made this several times, I used 1/2 cup buttermilk and 3//4 water when I made the cake mix sometimes I will use sour cream. Everyone always loves this cake !! Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Parrish-Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States