Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Well the first time I made this it was Great but that was several years ago when you could get an 18.25oz cake mix. I made this now and used the right amount of ricotta cheese but cake mix had hard time covering bottom of 13x9 inch pan because boxes now are 16.5. The result was cake was done 15 minutes faster than it should have been and it did not cover all the ricotta cheese. Now that everything is coming smaller with less in them then recipes won't come out right with mixes with less amount. Sad with today economy. I chose 5 star rating because when I first made this cake it was great it's just now measures are not right with today's packaging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It was very plain and dry, with little flavor. You have to let it cook forever and it is very dry when you take it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This cake should NOT be baked for 75 min. Is it an error? I almost ruined it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
very good-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
So darned easy, so darned good. See in the comments the lemon cake variation. To. Die. For. Don't count on having any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This cake was so good that it was requested to be made for Thanksgiving this year! Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
So-so! but the recipe makes more than 1 9X13 dish. My son didn't really care for this and niether did my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yummy Yummy!!! I've been making this cake for years and just recently found the recipe here with the change of chocolate cake instead of using yellow cake and needless to say that no matter what we do with chocolate is always good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Easy, Easy, Easy! GREAT "make-ahead" dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I would've added more sugar to the ricotta cheese because that layer was just kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States