Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I made this exactly as written except for the baking time. Mine was done by 60 minutes using a glass baking dish. 75 minutes is way too long. I didn't top mine with the pudding frosting because I thought it would be too sweet. I just added a dollop of whipped topping to each piece as I served it. I wish the sweetened ricotta layer had more flavor. I think I'll use almond extract next time and some shredded coconut to turn this into an 'Almond Joy Love Cake'. And I agree with the other reviewers, this tastes much better after it chills in the fridge overnight. I tasted it warm and it was not as good. It also becomes more moist after it's refrigerated. A fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have been making this cake for years, albeit a little differently. I always used only a yellow cake mix with the ricotta mixture. I then dusted the cake with confectioners sugar and offered the option of topping each piece with a spoonful of canned raspberry or cherry pie filling. With or without the ruin topping, it is delicious.I am always asked for the recipe. But I will be making this version today for my husband's 100 year old aunt, who loves chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Matis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is sooooo good. I thought I had screwed it up when the ricotta disappeared during baking. I just cut a piece and the consistency is super moist and creamy. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Not hard to make. It definitely looks impressive. With the 7 eggs (3 in the cake mix 4 in the ricotta layer) it is a definite special occasion dessert. Great with fresh sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
So delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made this cake years ago. Substituted almond extract for the vanilla in the ricotta. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
We didn't love the Love Cake. The flavor was very bland and unimpressive for what you put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! Not too sweet, which is a big part of a successful dessert to me. Used devils food cake, no changes to recipe. But I will say I was smelling burning of the cake. It bakes quite a long time, which concerned me. When I checked on it when I smelled burning, it was quite done on the sides but middle not even close. Closed oven and said a prayer. Worked out fine. Cooled and the placed in fridge. Next day, made up "frosting" put on cake and shaved chocolate curls on. Looked pretty. Brought to a friends for dinner. They all LOVED IT! I highly recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
talk about dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is one cake with a whole lot of love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States