Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Ashcheekz
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
It was really good, I let it sit overnight so it would be even more moist. Every one loved it and ate like half of it. It's really rich with the cake and the chocolate mousse so it's not something you can have seconds with. I loved making it, very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashcheekz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I loved this cake! I had to make something for my work Christmas party, and it had to be Italian. I was weary with this recepie because like another reviewer, people either loved it or hated it. Well, I just tried a piece to make sure it was cooked all the way through, and I love it! I cooked it for 75 minutes in the glass pan, and the top was a little burned, but otherwise ok. I used DH Devil's Food for the cake, and it turned out moist and delicious, so I have no idea why some people got dry cake. I used A LOT less whipped topping because I didn't want to have heaps of "frosting" on top, and it turned out just fine (maybe 4-6 ounces instead of 12). I also used fat free milk which seems just fine (it was all I had in the house.) I would recommend adding two teaspoons of vanilla instead of one, the ricotta can be overpowering. Like the picture, my cake also formed a little crust on the bottom with the ricotta sitting nicely on top. I will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan_A_Mess

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very unique and attractive cake. I made a chocolate fudge cake from scratch (I prefer scratch cakes to box mixes), and I used a 10"x14" pan. The cake was perfectly done in 60 minutes. I'm glad I took others' advice and used a pan bigger than 9"x13". Even an 11"x15" pan would work well. The cheese filling was a little bland. I used 1 tsp. rum extract instead of vanilla, but I probably should have used at least 2 tsp. Also, I think the filling could have used a little more sugar. Overall, a very good cake, and it tasted even better after a few days! I'm sure I'll be making it again with a few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Nothing special. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by helenfromMD
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is an awesome cake! We've been making it for years and everyone loves it. I've also done it with yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding with equally delicious results. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Got this recipe from my mom but we do it a little differently. We use a marble cake mix, and top with french van. pudding mixed with cool whip and then cover and I mean cover the cool whip topping with cinnamon. Everyone that has tasted it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Keefe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Pretty darn good. Very moist. As others suggested, I made the day before, and frosted the day of. I also baked it in a foil pan that had higher sides. I don't know if I would make it again, but that's only because I don't make a ton of cakes. Definately worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I used 2 lbs ricotta cheese and the duncan hines marble cake mix... yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jb3401

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
The mascarpone filling needs a little something "more." Next time I'll try adding some canelloni-like ingredients to it like mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States