Italian Love Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I just made this cake - I put it in 2 glass round pans - and only used 1# of ricotta - not a bad cake but not really impressive - I do not think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This was a miserable failure. I followed the directions exactly; no substitutions or changes. The cheese remained on top, and the cake mix burned. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I made this recipe as directed and the day before I served it. We liked the top 2 layers, but really didn't like the bottom layer. It was very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I couldn't get past the texture of the ricotta. I was expecting more of a cream cheese texture. I would use cream cheese if I ever made this again. The whole thing was a little bland, too. It looks very pretty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarans93
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Loved it! Changes I made: Used Devil's Food Cake mix, whole milk ricotta, and light whipped topping. Also I only cooked it for 60 minutes because it was set by then. I didn't have a 9x13 dish so I used a large deep dish casserole pan and a bread pan. The bread pan separated perfectly, but the casserole dish did not, but it still looked and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Very good! I was also worried that the cheese wouldn't sink, but it did so beautifully. The top of the finished cake was very uneven. But completely unnoticeable after it was iced. Definitely add shaved chocolate to the top, the little bit of crunch was perfect. I may add mini cops to the cheese layer next time, but I worry they'd all sink to the same level? I baked my cake on a Friday morning, left it on the counter with seran wrap, until Saturday afternoon. I iced it Saturday afternoon for a Saturday evening party. It was a hit. And the leftovers as just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KZrod
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I had a Italian themed dinner for friends and I was looking for a dessert. This recipe sparked my interest specially cause they had just got engaged! I did everything according to the directions except I used a heart shaped spring form pan & baked for only 60 minutes. I made the cake the night before & iced it a hour before guests arrived. I topped it with shaved chocolate and some strawberries. Such a hit, It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZrod
Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Made this substituting lemon cake mix and pudding. It was a total hit at my church dinner. Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My family and friends thought this was okay. I thought it was good; rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMI426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This is sooo good! I've made it twice now-second time was at the request of my family. The first time I made the ricotta part as the recipe stated. The second time, I made the ricotta mixture using a full cup of sugar (instead of 3/4 c) & 1 Tbl of vanilla (instead of 1 tsp). Both times I've made this I created my own frosting. For the frosting, I melted approx 1/2 c dark chocolate chips with a little coconut oil (maybe 2 tsp), added finely ground espresso (to taste), 1-2 Tbl of Bailey's Irish Cream (can be omitted) and a can of chocolate frosting. Once that was cooled, I mixed it into the cool whip and frosted the cake the next day. The combination of flavors, especially with the coffee, and the textures are just unbelievable! The ricotta becomes almost like a cheesecake consistency and the cake on top is so moist, then the frosting is so creamy! Definitely try this if you haven't already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiles415

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Browns Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States