Italian Lemon Drop Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I am guessing based on this recipe being called Italian Lemon Drop cookies that cookies in Italy are less sweet than here. I like less sweet, so I liked them very much. My kids probably would have preferred sweeter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
. I made this recipe 3 separate times, once with margarine, once with coconut oil, and once with shortening as written. I made actual drop scones (scraping dough from spoon) rather than rolling into balls, and I also spread one batch in a greased 8x8 baking pan. Of these, my favorite was the coconut oil, followed by shortening, then margarine, although none of the variations was terrible. The dough made pretty decent bars (my kids ate them all within 12 hours), so if you're pressed for time you can do that instead of rolling balls or dropping dough on a sheet. The scones/cookies have a pleasant lemony flavor, but it is the frosting that takes the recipe from just ok to very good. Even if you don't use this particular frosting recipe, I highly recommend using some sort of glaze or icing on these as they are definitely lackluster served plain. Bottom line is, do not expect a traditional cookie from this recipe. If you want something like a lemon sugar cookie, look elsewhere! However, if you want something different, or if you'd like a scone-type treat for breakfast or brunch, this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was hesitant to make these after reading the reviews but I had all of the ingredients so I figured I'd give them a shot. I actually enjoyed them quite a bit! The raw dough was not good so I was nervous for the turn out but they were pretty tasty! The frosting definitely made them so do not skimp on that! I will probably make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzbth488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews before baking these. Was to bake for birthday at work, but looks like I will be going to the bakery in the morning. These cookies are dry, doughy, & bland. They have no flavor at all. I followed the recipe exactly and don't think that even the icing will help them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
they tasted bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Dry, bland I will not be making these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I got this recipe off a bottle of Crisco and made them last night. They are very good. I used butter flavor Crisco which added some yellow to the cookies. I might add more lemon to the cookie dough next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This sounded yummy but didn't meet my expectations. I made the cookie recipe just as written. The cookie part is bland (not tasty without the sweetness from the icing) and it's more cakelike than cookie. Be careful when making the icing because it calls for 1/4 cup of milk but you only add 2 tbs to start and use the rest as needed. I did add a little corn syrup to help harden it and give it a little shine. I also added several drops of yellow food coloring because otherwise they are pretty plain looking. I wish they had been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
made these they were ex
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States