Italian Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Wow, this is fabulous. Couple pieces of advice, though. Firstly, just use regular sausage. I don't understand why you'd want to use link sausage in a lasagna recipe. Secondly, DO NOT try to fit all of this into a 9x13 pan. Go out and buy yourself a bigger pan - you'll be very thankful you did. I followed the advice of others and made more sauce, which I did the day before in the crockpot so that I wouldn't have to babysit it. I also assembled the lasagna early in the day and popped it in the oven right before my party. This makes enough to feed a small army. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
overall, very tasty. but the sauce didn't yield a whole heck of a lot, so i would have to double the next time. i did add a bit of red wine to the sauce as it simmered (and i probably wouldn't let it simmer as long- it started to scald). but, the sauce was very flavorful, even without the wine, and the lasagna itself was very delicious. my husband and picky 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
Very good. I used no boil lasagne noodles and made it up a day ahead. I added about a half pound of mushrooms as an extra layer. It took the full 1.5 hours and maybe a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Chef
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
i thought this recipe was great, not to mention the finished product itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This Lasagna was great. My family loved it. I would suggest increasing the tomato sauce to another can. I did not have enough ricotta cheese so I used sour cream and it still tasted wonderful. P.S. Don't forget to drain the grease from the bacon or your sauce will be way too greasy..... Love it thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Yummy! The sauce tasted so good! I added another can of tomates and had more then enough sauce. I didn't even need the extra sauce. I also used bulk sausage which was perfect, and used a very deep pan. I think I ended up with 6 layers. It feed the army of guests that I had and we even had leftovers for a couple of days. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I knew this would be a great classic lasagna recipe. It turned out to be the perfect Italian lasagna. All my extended family--many of whom are food snobs--raved over it when I served it for a party. After making it twice, I concluded the following changes made it party-perfect: I pre-cooked the pasta, and if I hadn't, I feel it would have been very dry. I also added one small can diced tomatoes to the sauce, as I learned from the first time I made it, it needed more sauce. I didn't particularly like the bacon, and when it was ommitted, it wasn't quite so heavy that way. Follow the rest as is, and you'll have a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I cut this recipe down to 8, it was impossible to cut in half. I only simmered the sauce about an hour due to time, it was delicous (didn't use fennel-didn't have any). I boiled the noodles & cooked the lasagna for 45 mins. It filled up the 13x9 in pan. This was very good. Might try it again sometime with beef. Thanks. Edit: I made only the sauce today. I cooked the bacon, meanwhile I chopped the onions. I put the bacon on a paper towel lined plate to drain after it was cooked. I then drained out some grease & cooked the onions, chopped up the bacon meanwhile. I put the onions & the bacon in a crockpot. I cooked 1 lb of ground beef in the skillet, drained & added it to the crockpot. I added the sauce & herbs to the crockpot & turned it to low & let it simmer for 8 hours. I served it over spaghetti with bread & butter on the side. This sauce is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Best lasagne I've ever had! I cautiously made a half recipe, but it worked wonderfully in a 9x13 dish. With the reduced recipe, the lasagne wasn't piled as high, and with ready-to-bake noodles, it was done baking in under an hour. The second time I made it, I added more sauce, more garlic, and took the sausage out of the casing before browning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaManisera
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
wow cathy you have really outdone yourself with this recipe. I made this exactly the way I was supposed to for my anniversary and my husband absolutely loved it. I love making this recipe for our yearly parties. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States