Italian Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was the best lasagna ever! I only had an hour to simmer the sauce and it was still very tasty! I can't wait to try it again! I did not use the fennel seed though, and I added garlic to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was amazing. I cut the recipe down to 8 servings and it still filled up the whole 9x13 pan. So delicious, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this recipe for a holiday party and the ladies all loved it! I think the sauce is what makes the lasagna extraordinary. I was at first hesitant to add bacon but it makes all the difference with the flavor. I did what others suggested and doubled the sauce (actually just added an extra can of tomato sauce). I did not use link sausage but used the other you break up into pieces. I didn't have any fennel either so didn't add it (still good without it). I used all cottage cheese instead of ricotta (too rich for me). I also used the "oven-ready" lasagna which made it so much easier (just have to take into account extra baking time). I also cut down on the milk (1/4 cup) since the cottage cheese is runnier than the ricotta. You may not even need the milk. I used parmesan cheese instead of provolone (sprinkled it on top of the mozzarella cheese). To make it somewhat a little healthier I added a layer of fresh spinach! I also used a bigger pan (not that much deeper) to get all of the layers to fit. I ended up baking it for a little longer than the 1 1/2 hours. Served it with a green salad and homemade breadsticks. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was a fantastic lasagna recipe. My only suggestion is that you should use a larger pan. Using a regular 9x13 glass dish I ended up having enough extra ingredients that I made another 9x9 dish of lasagna. Either use a deep lasagna pan or plan to need an additional pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corbin, Kentucky, USA
Living In: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the best lasagna! I used too small a pan for the whole box of noodles but it's still too much food for my family! It's a great dinner on a budget! It's delicious! Mine seemed salty but it was the italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
great, yummy lasagna. i had the unfortunate misconception that the noodles didn't have to be pre-cooked but out of trial and error found out yes indeed they do need to be cooked. ended up transferring everything over to another pot and mixed with ziti pasta instead which was of course just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This gets 5 stars. The only thing I did differently was, I didn't use provolone, but I mixed shredded parmesan with the mozzarella. Buono!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhomecookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Excellent lasagna. I use a bigger pan than what the recipe calls for, it really fills it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
One word....AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. I did add some garlic to the onion at the start, about a tablespoon of red chile pepper flakes (because I like spicy food) and about a half-cup of red wine to the tomato sauce when it was simmering. I used spicy Italian sausage, which gave it a little extra kick, and it won raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States