Italian Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was super good! I used 2 jars of sauce and i browned hamburger along with sausage. I would recommend using less bacon unless you really like the over powing taste of bacon! also, I didnt have enough of the ricatta mix so had to make a quick half batch. All in all this is a great meal that even my 2 year old gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I wasn't that impressed, especially for the time involved. The flavor was good but it was a little dry for my liking and putting the cheese on top to cook the entire time made the cheese too crisp, almost burned. The bacon in the gravy was a little unncecessary, you really couldn't taste it. If I made it again, I would put the cheese on about half way through the cooking time and I would cut the cook time by about 20 minutes. My family thought it was okay but I was hoping it would have been over the top good, as other reviews stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe! My modifications included adding wine (1/3 cup) & garlic (4 chopped cloves) to the tomato sauce, and using a full pound of bacon. It all fits into a 9 x 13 pan - but if you add the extra can of tomato sauce, I can see that it wouldn't. If you are concerned, use the same trick as for baking pies - use aluminum foil around the edges of the pan (I actually used foil from the bottom & up the sides of the pan to ensure no leaking). I am making & freezing some of these lasagnas for guests at our upcoming wedding - they are so good! Thanks for an excellent recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Just didn,t taste like lasagna to me. Expensive mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The lasagna was ok. I agree that more sauce was needed. I think I will go back to my old way of making lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
It was so easy and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was the best lasagna ever! I only had an hour to simmer the sauce and it was still very tasty! I can't wait to try it again! I did not use the fennel seed though, and I added garlic to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was amazing. I cut the recipe down to 8 servings and it still filled up the whole 9x13 pan. So delicious, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this recipe for a holiday party and the ladies all loved it! I think the sauce is what makes the lasagna extraordinary. I was at first hesitant to add bacon but it makes all the difference with the flavor. I did what others suggested and doubled the sauce (actually just added an extra can of tomato sauce). I did not use link sausage but used the other you break up into pieces. I didn't have any fennel either so didn't add it (still good without it). I used all cottage cheese instead of ricotta (too rich for me). I also used the "oven-ready" lasagna which made it so much easier (just have to take into account extra baking time). I also cut down on the milk (1/4 cup) since the cottage cheese is runnier than the ricotta. You may not even need the milk. I used parmesan cheese instead of provolone (sprinkled it on top of the mozzarella cheese). To make it somewhat a little healthier I added a layer of fresh spinach! I also used a bigger pan (not that much deeper) to get all of the layers to fit. I ended up baking it for a little longer than the 1 1/2 hours. Served it with a green salad and homemade breadsticks. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States