Italian Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
best Italian Lasagna I ever tried. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Personally, I love this recipe. It was the best (and first) lasagna I ever made. I made it for my boyfriend because lasagna is his favorite dish and he said it is the best he has ever had. The only changes I made were I doubled the amount of sauce the recipe called for and I used my favorite pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce. I also partially cooked the noodles before baking. I took the advice of one of the other reviews and didn't add the top layer of cheese until half way in to baking. I can't imagine what the cheese would have looked like if I hadn't. I would recommend waiting to add the cheese. I'm a beginning cook. Very new to this art and I managed to pull this off without any setbacks. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperNanny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crete, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I was pleased with this recipe. I took the advise of other reviewers and added an extra can of tomato sauce. I also used some crushed garlic and increased the herbs in the sauce. The bacon is an absolute must! You don't really taste the pieces in the finished product, but it makes the sauce so much better. I had 8 cups of mozzarella and ended up using all of it! This definitely makes way more than what can fit into a regular pan. Be prepared to use 2 or a huge roasting pan. The final result was pretty good after the modifications. I think it would have been way too dry with the original sauce proportions as I almost ran out even with the extra can. I do think that there was something missing that I just couldn't put my finger on. Next time I will try parmesan instead of the provolone. Though it is a little time-consuming, I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was super good! I used 2 jars of sauce and i browned hamburger along with sausage. I would recommend using less bacon unless you really like the over powing taste of bacon! also, I didnt have enough of the ricatta mix so had to make a quick half batch. All in all this is a great meal that even my 2 year old gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I wasn't that impressed, especially for the time involved. The flavor was good but it was a little dry for my liking and putting the cheese on top to cook the entire time made the cheese too crisp, almost burned. The bacon in the gravy was a little unncecessary, you really couldn't taste it. If I made it again, I would put the cheese on about half way through the cooking time and I would cut the cook time by about 20 minutes. My family thought it was okay but I was hoping it would have been over the top good, as other reviews stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe! My modifications included adding wine (1/3 cup) & garlic (4 chopped cloves) to the tomato sauce, and using a full pound of bacon. It all fits into a 9 x 13 pan - but if you add the extra can of tomato sauce, I can see that it wouldn't. If you are concerned, use the same trick as for baking pies - use aluminum foil around the edges of the pan (I actually used foil from the bottom & up the sides of the pan to ensure no leaking). I am making & freezing some of these lasagnas for guests at our upcoming wedding - they are so good! Thanks for an excellent recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Just didn,t taste like lasagna to me. Expensive mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The lasagna was ok. I agree that more sauce was needed. I think I will go back to my old way of making lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
It was so easy and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States