Italian Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hchavez
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great lamb recipe!! Overall great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
When I made this, I had less lamb than I thought, only about 3/4lb, but this still turned out good (although I definitely would use the full amount of meat next time!). For the tomatoes I used 2 cans of undrained diced tomatoes to save time. When I added the potatoes and other vegetables, I added some extra liquid because I was worried about there being enough to cover the potatoes adequately. I then added a bit extra oregano to balance out the extra liquid. This of course made it a little more soupy than stewy, so I pureed some of the vegetables after they were cooked and dumped them back in to thicken everything up. The only other change I would make is to use less parsley, maybe only 2 tablespoons, because I felt there was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Just OK. Seemed to be missing something, but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Incredible... but did make some changes sauteed some chopped bacon and onions in the oil, then dredged the lamb in smoked paprika and rosemary - for more of a smokey taste. Also did not add the potatoes as I served this over brown rice, and I braised the casserole in the oven instead of stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I took advice from some of the other "posters" and added in whatever vege's I had here. Bad idea! Turnips and parsnips were lousy in it. Stick with the basic stewing vege's and you'll probably be o.k.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
A good way to use up the last veggies from my garden. I shredded the zucchini to fool my daughter into eating it and had to add a little more chicken broth when adding the veggies. The only thing I would change when making this again is to add some onion. Thanks Juanita/Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Didn't have fresh tomatoes, used canned, diced instead. This recipe even my husband loved! (And he hates everything) Will use this recipe to help the garden veggies' overflow when the season comes along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I loved this recipe. The interesting use of veggies make it not only delicious but a beautiful presentation! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! Very easy to follow and delicious to boot! Am serving this dish to guests next weekend! Thank you Juanita?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States