Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
In the past, I steamed my kale (chard, spinach, etc.), then transfered it to a frying pan with garlic butter, and then dressed it on the plate with balsamic vinaigrette . . . so imagine how happy I was to see this simplified version of a side-dish I enjoy so much (albeit sheepish about not having figured out the "one pan" method for myself. Seems so obvious now!) Anyway, this tastes wonderful: fresh greens are so easy and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made kale for the first time using this recipe. Will definitely be making it again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was a super recipe! If you are a novice at cooking kale, like I was a while ago, you need to strip the leaves off the stems and also chop the leaves a bit before cooking. You should add a small amount of water when cooking the kale and watch carefully so it doesn't boil away and burn. This recipe is very easy and has a really nice flavor. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
We like this one a lot! I don't change a thing and it turns out great. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
So simple, so healthy and so devine!!! A great side dish for any type of meal...even my kids ate it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Whoa!!! This is excellent!!! And, can you say HEALTHY??? Superb recipe. Only change I made was to use 4 cloves of garlic (what can I say - I'm a garlic freak.) I've also used a similar method with swiss chard and spinach, but never tried it with balsamic vinegar. That adds a real tasty touch! Note that the recipe says to cook the kale until half of the volume is reduced. Don't over cook it - it's healthier that way!! You don't want it to end up like a wet rag. There should still be a hint of crispness to the leaves. Also, toss the kale a few times and it won't burn. The water on the leaves from washing should be enough. Simple, tasty and good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I loved this, although i did it a bit differently. I doubled the recipe, then ran out of balsamic vinegar after one tablespoon. So i did one of dijon mustard, one of regular vinegar and 2/3 of a tablespoon of sugar. It was awesome, especially for my first time cooking kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Fantastic!!!! I love Kale and this is another great way to add it to the rotation!! I added some navy beans while the Kale was cooking down to make it a main meal. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This simple recipe makes getting a not-so-popular veggie on the table easy. Very flavorful (the vinegar is a perfect complement to the earthy kale)and went great with my dinner of pork chops in mushroom sauce and red mashed potatoes. Per other reviews, it was helpful to know that you should trim the leaves completely from their stem, chop the leaves, and add a bit of water to the pan in first stage of wilting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCrowston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States