Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
So simple, so healthy and so devine!!! A great side dish for any type of meal...even my kids ate it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was good but I was a bit overwhelmed by the pockets of garlic. It was difficult to distribute the minced garlic evenly throughout the kale at the point of insertion in the recipe. I'll try again, maybe this time mixing the oil, vinegar and garlic together before pouring into the pan to see if it distributes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Did not love this, BUT I decided that I just don't like leafy veggies...I had some Kale leftover from making soup so I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very nice kale preparation. Tastes very Southern, even though its Italian. Be advised it takes at least 20 minutes to wash and de-spine and chop the kale. Also, it helps to have half of the olive oil in the pan when you're cooking the kale, to help it from sticking. Also, add 1/2 cup of water and cover the pan- this will ensure that the kale doesn't burn. The water will evaporate off at the end, leaving nicely sauteed kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This simple recipe makes getting a not-so-popular veggie on the table easy. Very flavorful (the vinegar is a perfect complement to the earthy kale)and went great with my dinner of pork chops in mushroom sauce and red mashed potatoes. Per other reviews, it was helpful to know that you should trim the leaves completely from their stem, chop the leaves, and add a bit of water to the pan in first stage of wilting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Fantastic!!!! I love Kale and this is another great way to add it to the rotation!! I added some navy beans while the Kale was cooking down to make it a main meal. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
We like this one a lot! I don't change a thing and it turns out great. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I don't think I let the kale wilt long enough as it was kind of chewy, but we liked the Italian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Pretty good. I don't love kale, but I eat it for its nutritional value, and this recipe made it palatable. Go easy on the balsamic vinegar. Also, the kale cooked much more quickly for me than the recipe indicated, so watch it closely so it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I made this recipe as listed and it was very good. Next time, I plan to cut the amount of balsamic vinegar in half. There was too much and it overpowered the taste of the vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMCBRID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States