Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
In the past, I steamed my kale (chard, spinach, etc.), then transfered it to a frying pan with garlic butter, and then dressed it on the plate with balsamic vinaigrette . . . so imagine how happy I was to see this simplified version of a side-dish I enjoy so much (albeit sheepish about not having figured out the "one pan" method for myself. Seems so obvious now!) Anyway, this tastes wonderful: fresh greens are so easy and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
For my first experience cooking kale...it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Had a barbeque with some friends last night and even tho my non vegetable eating friend wouldn't touch it, everyone else loved it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I love kale and am even growing my own this summer. I followed this recipe exactly and used fresh kale from my garden. However, I was very disappointed with this recipe. I do apologize for such a negative review. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Our neighbor gave us a bunch of fresh kale from her garden. I didn't know how to prepare it, so gave this recipe a try. I've made spinach this way, and the kale tasted just as good with the EVOO, garlic, & balsamic. Felt like we were doing something very healthy for ourselves with dinner tonight! Thanks, Dwieberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Not bad... very strong balsamic taste. I'd probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'm sure it would have been much tastier if I didn't burn it. Smelled lovely in the pot. I think it just needed some more water... make sure you keep enough water while steaming the kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Whoa!!! This is excellent!!! And, can you say HEALTHY??? Superb recipe. Only change I made was to use 4 cloves of garlic (what can I say - I'm a garlic freak.) I've also used a similar method with swiss chard and spinach, but never tried it with balsamic vinegar. That adds a real tasty touch! Note that the recipe says to cook the kale until half of the volume is reduced. Don't over cook it - it's healthier that way!! You don't want it to end up like a wet rag. There should still be a hint of crispness to the leaves. Also, toss the kale a few times and it won't burn. The water on the leaves from washing should be enough. Simple, tasty and good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was a super recipe! If you are a novice at cooking kale, like I was a while ago, you need to strip the leaves off the stems and also chop the leaves a bit before cooking. You should add a small amount of water when cooking the kale and watch carefully so it doesn't boil away and burn. This recipe is very easy and has a really nice flavor. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
If I make this again, I will reduce the amount of vinegar in it and/or change the type of vinegar used. Red wine would probably be better; balsamic is too strong in this quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States