Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was my first trial at making kale and it turned out great with a few adjustments based on the reviews. Saute the garlic first in 1/2 of the oil recommended, then add 1/2 cup chicken or vegetable broth and the kale. After the broth evaporates, toss in a little balsamic vinaigrette dressing and top with toasted slivered almonds and navy beans for a tasty and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Line

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I could not believe the flavor the kale retains! I absolutely loved it, first time eating kale any other way than in soup:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is very tasty, my first time to try out Kale, i love it!! i did not add the balsamic vinegar, as I did not have any on hand, but I added the garlic and olive oil and salt & pepper, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnsecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was my first time trying kale and I didn't care for it. It tasted very bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
6-27-11: This was pretty good, but needed to be cooked a little longer to more completely wilt the kale. The dressing was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I picked up some Kale at the farmers market after reading about its super food qualities and had no idea what to do with it. This recipe is an easy, delicious and fast way to prepare kale. I've already made it 4 times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Next time, I will I cook the kale down with water first. It was not soft enough. Otherwise, my dad and I loved it! I have never had balsamic vinegar before. The smell is horrible but it tastes incredible! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Delicious flavor and simple preparation. I would use less B.V. Plus, using a mixture of varieties of Kale added to the taste. Great recipe to keep on hand for the summer as it makes an easy side dish, or when coupled with rice/meatballs/pasta can be a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeschu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rexi
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very good and simple recipe! I was out of balsamic vinegar so I used red wine vinegar instead and it worked just as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Since I learned cooking styles from a true italian, I knew to season the pot with the ollive oil and garlic (over med to med high heat), then I tossed in the chopped kale and after a couple tosses, I turned the heat off and let it sit for a few minutes. Finally, I drizzled it with the balsamic vinegar, tossed it again and served it with blue cheese crumbles. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States