Italian Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
In the past, I steamed my kale (chard, spinach, etc.), then transfered it to a frying pan with garlic butter, and then dressed it on the plate with balsamic vinaigrette . . . so imagine how happy I was to see this simplified version of a side-dish I enjoy so much (albeit sheepish about not having figured out the "one pan" method for myself. Seems so obvious now!) Anyway, this tastes wonderful: fresh greens are so easy and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
For my first experience cooking kale...it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Had a barbeque with some friends last night and even tho my non vegetable eating friend wouldn't touch it, everyone else loved it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I love kale and am even growing my own this summer. I followed this recipe exactly and used fresh kale from my garden. However, I was very disappointed with this recipe. I do apologize for such a negative review. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Our neighbor gave us a bunch of fresh kale from her garden. I didn't know how to prepare it, so gave this recipe a try. I've made spinach this way, and the kale tasted just as good with the EVOO, garlic, & balsamic. Felt like we were doing something very healthy for ourselves with dinner tonight! Thanks, Dwieberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Not bad... very strong balsamic taste. I'd probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I'm sure it would have been much tastier if I didn't burn it. Smelled lovely in the pot. I think it just needed some more water... make sure you keep enough water while steaming the kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Whoa!!! This is excellent!!! And, can you say HEALTHY??? Superb recipe. Only change I made was to use 4 cloves of garlic (what can I say - I'm a garlic freak.) I've also used a similar method with swiss chard and spinach, but never tried it with balsamic vinegar. That adds a real tasty touch! Note that the recipe says to cook the kale until half of the volume is reduced. Don't over cook it - it's healthier that way!! You don't want it to end up like a wet rag. There should still be a hint of crispness to the leaves. Also, toss the kale a few times and it won't burn. The water on the leaves from washing should be enough. Simple, tasty and good for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was a super recipe! If you are a novice at cooking kale, like I was a while ago, you need to strip the leaves off the stems and also chop the leaves a bit before cooking. You should add a small amount of water when cooking the kale and watch carefully so it doesn't boil away and burn. This recipe is very easy and has a really nice flavor. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
If I make this again, I will reduce the amount of vinegar in it and/or change the type of vinegar used. Red wine would probably be better; balsamic is too strong in this quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States