Italian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The perfect alternative to mayo on a healthy wrap. Don't get me wrong, it tastes nothing like mayo but if you are looking for a healthy substitute it is a delicious creamy combination that adds some great flavor. I even used it for a veggie wrap and it added just the right amount of yummy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Since I was already in love with white bean dip with loads of roasted garlic, pickled jalapenos, vinegar, and tex-mex seasonings to taste (I never measure this particular dip, hmmmm, I might a touch of fresh toms, sans the wet seed part in the future, thanks to this recipe). Anyway, with that former dip being a fav, I thought this dip, with its addition of cheese, would be a new favorite dip. Made as per recipe, and didn't want to ask anyone to eat it. To make it palatable, I personally had to add a small dose of white vinegar, then a tad more garlic. However, in my family's opinion, even with those changes, this simply was not as good as my former fav. We ate a couple of meals with this, and simply had 'thank you' helpings. So I was going to throw this out. HOWEVER, MY HUSBAND TRIED THIS WITH CHIPS, AND THAT WAS MUCH BETTER. HE STILL PREFERS THE GARLIC-WHITE-BEAN TEX-MEX STYLE DIP, BUT CAN TOLERATE THIS WITH CHIPS. (I'll leave the rest to him and the kids though, and pass on making this again. Thanks for the idea, though. It was fun trying it, it inspired a potential dip to our favorite dip, and now I'll know more what we do and do not prefer in our home.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Even though I changed some things on this recipe I'm giving it 5 stars even with the modifications! First, I used low-fat ricotta instead of cottage cheese Second, as one of the other reviews recommended, I only used 6 grape tomatoes. Consistency was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was really good, I am always looking for great sandwich spreads and dips that are healthy and without eggs because we have allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claeli69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wow, I was stunned at how well this came out. Will definitely be making it again! Next time I will use the blender however, bc the food processor didn't seem to chop the tomatoes & basil very well (or maybe mine is too weak, not sure). You would never know there was cottage cheese in there. I used raw garlic bc I wanted the spiciness. Ate it on toasted flat bread and loved it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Great variation of Hummus! I cooked my own beans(of course drained them) and used freeze dried basil cause I had it on hand. I chilled it and is great on my Pita chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deiders

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This is one of my favorite types of hummus, but I use a slightly different recipe. I've found that the standard one has too many grape tomatoes, which make the hummus too runny and give it a too-strong tomato taste. For this recipe, I only would use five or six grape tomatoes -- with most of the juice squeezed out. Also, I've experimented with roasting the garlic and using more of it, with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This recipe is wonderful!... I substituted ricotta (much lower sodium) for the cottage cheese, but otherwise followed the instructions to the letter. The result was a scrumptious soup, delicious cold or warmed up. The only problem was I really wanted a hummus consistency as I planned to stuff hard boiled egg whites with it (like a deviled egg, only with this hummus). I'm fairly certain that even if I'd left out the liquid from the cannellini beans can, it still would have been too runny to call hummus. Kristin? Would you be so kind as to re-read what you put down here in your recipe to verify it's correct? As I said, the flavor combination is wonderful! - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
It's too runny and has too much basil. I actually drained my cannellini beans, and thank goodness that I did. I wasn't a big fan of the basil. It's texture and flavor over powers the hummus. I think I would try it with a different herb. Definitely not something you could use as a dip or on crackers. I gave it 2 stars only because I hope that I can use it on turkey wraps. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States