Italian Hot Turkey Sausage and Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My 12 yo son went crazy over this. He said it could be a lot worse, but still be really good... hmm, I'll take it. I used regular Italian sausage and added red pepper flakes for some heat. I used angel hair pasta and simmered it, covered, until the broth was mostly all soaked up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I LOVED this recipe!!! I have a ton of black eyed peas leftover from our church pot luck, so I've been scouring the internet for recipes to use them in. This is a winner! I used the 8 oz. of pasta like the recipe called for, and I thought it was just right (I actually probably used a little more). I broke each into 4 pieces. The only differences I made was to use Kielbasa and tomato sauce, since I didn't have those specific ingredients. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I used mild italian sausage and left out the celery just because I didn't have any but otherwise followed the recipe. It made a very tasty meal...and clean-up was a breeze since it only dirtied up one pan to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
DELICIOUS! I substituted hot Italian venison sausage for the turkey sausage, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. It was fantastic and the leftovers were even better! Disregard the other reviews that say it is just okay and give it a try; you won't be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Really delicious with a 6 oz can of tomato paste & mild sausage! I used about half the pasta recommended & the dish turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is a great recipe for something fast, healthy, tasty, and inexpensive. It was very tasty, though not AMAZING, if you know what I mean. I will certainly be making it again, though. I added some kale I had so as to have a green vegetable in the meal, and it went well. Be sure you have a big enough skillet! This recipe really does have 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a really good recipe. I did not give it five stars because that rating should be saved for a knock your socks off dish. It had good flavor and I liked the components of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I changed some ingredients to this recipe due to leftovers that were in the fridge. Instead of pasta, I used white rice. Also, I used the standard Italian seasoning instead of oregano. I bought frozen peas and cooked them with the onions and some minced garlic. Just before the peas were done, I sauteed Kielbasa sausage instead of the hot sausage, with the diced tomatoes and more seasoning. I did not buy the low sodium chicken broth but it was not too salty. In fact, I used more minced garlic in the sausage mixture. When all this was done, I mixed it all together in a large pot. My husband (he doesn't like the peas) and I enjoyed this meal a lot. Even my husband liked it! It was something different for the traditional black eyed peas meal and left some for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tngadgetlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good! I used regular Hot Italian Sausage which spiced it up a bit. Good way to get those New year's Black Eyed Peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairmanmeow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States