Italian Heroes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Good but not out of this world. Don't add salt (to the spread). Canned artichokes, salami and cheese are salty enough! Use arugula instead of spring mix. I used spring mix and my husband said, "you know what would make this taste good? Arugula."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Will definitely make again. I didn't have roasted red peppers so used sun dried tomatoes in their place. Can't wait to use the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Amazing hero hot or cold. The artichoke spread is wonderful. So easy to boot. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wow! So good! I made a couple of small changes- I left the soft bread and did not tear it out, and I served it warm. To serve warm, I wrapped each sandwich in foil and put it in the oven. The flavors blend together so well. It tastes like a high-end deli sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Awesome COLD ...and preferably wrapped in butcher paper. Great for picnics too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paron, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
These were very good even though the bottom of the bread was soggy (thats why I gave it only 4 stars)!! I didn't see this problem with any other viewer. I used a crusty Italian loaf but might have taken out too much of the inside bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These were delicious! I needed a recipe to use up rucola, and this was a nice twist! I do not assemble and refrigerate them in advance. The first time I had fresh crispy bread and I wanted it to stay crispy ;-) and now I just assemble them just before eating. Or I just put all ingredients on the table and everyone assembles them as they like (using more or less of every ingredient to taste). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graz, Steiermark, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Oh my gosh these were good! Everyone thought I bought them from the Italian deli down the street. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I served this at a bridal shower and everyone thought it was great. Instead of using a 6'' sub I used a whole french bread and cut it into 5 mini sandwiches with a pick to hold it together and that seemed to be plenty with a side of pasta and a side of fruit. Everyone loved the artichoke garlic paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I made them for tailgating at the horse races and they we're perfect - make ahead and just slice the sandwiches there with the wrapper on. Couldn't be easier! That artichoke spread was awesome but it could have used more of it so next time I'll double the artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States