Italian Herb Infused Olive Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I wanted some dipping oil for bread I was making now. So I used all dried herbs and let them soak in the oil in a covered bowl for two hours and it was pretty tasty. Nice for a small ammount and a hurry and the herbs started to swell up from soaking making it look more like fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
FANTASTIC flavor! I made this for Christmas gifts with "Jo's Rosemary bread" in the bread machine. All the flavors melded so great! I read up on oil infusion and chose to do a heat infusion. The risk of food poisioning goes down if you heat the herbs. Something about the fresh herbs having water content that causes botchilism. That's why you should use it quickly. The heating makes it last a bit longer but still in the fridge. I bought oil bottles with spouts and sealing wax and dipped them in red wax to seal them for gifts. They were pretty with the red wax, jingle bell, red raffia ribbon and sprig of rosemary inside the bottle with the oil. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-NET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This is great, feel free to add a little more herbs will just inhance the oil. Does take about a day to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Had this with warm pita bread, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamachef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is to die for! My one and only change was to add 2 cloves garlic to the oil. I use this for everything: instant marinade for chicken and pork, drizzle over salads, dipping oil for bread...the list goes on and on. And actually, I found this is still good for up to 4 weeks if you store it in the fridge. The oil will get a little cloudy but once you bring it back to room temperature the cloudiness will go away. The flavor will get more intense as the oil ages, so be warned if you add garlic or any spicy flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Beautiful to look at and wonderful to dip hot bread into. I am going to make this for gifts. Bought some bottles at Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This is one of the tastiest recipes for infused olive oil I ever had. I didn't have fresh Rosemary but went ahead without it. It was still wonderful... a delicious dipping oil! I was looking for a recipe of this kind for months. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
all i can say is AWESOME! i was looking for a recipe for this for so long and this is nothing short of FANTASTIC! THANK YOU! i used extra virgin olive oil and 1 crushed garlic (i looove garlic). if you like the dipping oils italian restaurants give you, TRY THIS! if you leave it in the fridge a few days, it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This oil is wonderful! I would like to ask why it needs to be used in 2 to 3 days? I thought oil could be used over a much longer period of time. Does it need to be stored in the refrigerator? I would like to make some as gifts and I would need to get started. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
DELICIOUS!!!! Thanks so much! Great for gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States