Italian Herb Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bren
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Excellent bread!!! We loved this bread and will definitely make it again. I don't have a bread maker but it was easy to make in my K.A. I tried to stay as close to the recipe as possible, I subed olive oil for margarine, added 1 1/2 tbs of vital wheat gluten and used the cheese on the outside of the bread. The texture was amazing. For the topping I added 1-2 tbs of olive oil, a finely grated clove of garlic and 1/2 tsp of Italian seasoning and the cheese. I tested the bread with and without the topping and my review is based on the bread without the topping. Excellent recipe Kathy, thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was the best Italian bread ever!! My hubby says it is better than the Italian Herb Bread from Subway. If I could rate it 10 stars I would. I used my Kitchen Aide Mixer instead of a bread machine. I baked it on a pampered chef cooking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonners

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eminence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good!!! I didn't have Italian seasoning, so I mixed oregano, basil and rosemary together as a substitute. The loaf didn't rise as much as some others I've made, but is sure tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Everyone Loves it! Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have Parmesan cheese, so I substituted Locatelli Romano... it turned out spectacular! This one's going to become a regular in our house for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I think this bread could be good, but something happened with my loaf not rising as it should? The result was a short dense loaf, somewhat gummy in the middle. I do think it may have been something I did and not the recipe itself. I may try it again sometime just to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great bread. I skipped the dry milk and replaced the margarine with an equal amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This bread was AWESOME! I did not use the water and powdered milk. Instead I used skim milk (2/3 cup)! EASY, YUMMY and did I mention AWESOME!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
really good! took it the are county Fair got 1st Lovely aroma! the only thing i changed is i added extra Parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Nice bread when olive oil is swapped for the margarine called for. Because I have them available now in my garden, I chose to use a handful of chopped, fresh herbs to replace the dried - oregano, thyme, rosemary, basil, sage and parsley. I found this recipe to have unusual ingredient measurements and it might have been better to have published the recipe with measurements for standard 1, 1-1/2 or 2 pound loaves. As another reviewer suggested, I scaled the recipe to 17 servings to make my 1-1/2 pound loaf. The amount of salt called for then was 1-3/4 tsp., and I found it to be too much. The bread didn't rise as well as it should have, and the finished bread even tasted too salty. Next time I will cut back the salt to 1-1/2 tsp. for the recipe scaled to use 3 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States