Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This bread had a great flavor - not too much and not too little spice. I made as directed but cut the recipe in half. We dipped it in extra virgin olive oil that had Parmesan cheese and pepper in it. This could easily be the bread on your table at a fancy Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I originally made this bread, on an occasion when I had run out of milk. I increased the sugar and most of the spices. Then it was very spicy indeed, almost a meal by itself. This week I made it as a pan pizza dough, the 2-loaf recipe made about three 8-inch pan pizzas. I also used exquisite pizza sauce thanks to an earlier reviewer's suggestion. Everyone loved the pizzas, especially the "crust!" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Great recipe. Good Choice for someone to use as their first "from scratch bread" due to it's success rate. We enjoyed it being tasty and basic. Exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
If you are after a very flavorful bread with a soft crumb and crust, this is a great bread. My crust-hating daughter loved it - crust and all. But if you are looking for some 'chew' and a heartieer texture/crust, this bread won't cut it. I may try it again with some whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
So yummy. Took the advice of another reviewer and cranked the oven to 425 to preheat, put the bread in, threw a cup of ice into the bottom of the oven and then lowered the temp. to 375. Turned out AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Paltz, New York, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was only the second time I have ever baked bread. I cut the recipe in half and it turned out fairly well. I had to let the bread rise a little longer than the recipe called for but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe makes a delicious loaf of herb bread. It's odd that people refer to it as 'spicy'. It's an herbal aromatic bread, but not spicy. If you think it's heavy or dense, you can check if your oven runs too hot or cool with an inexpensive thermometer made to check oven temps. If you used wheat bread instead of white - it's going to be very dense. Follow the recipe exactly, bake it at the right temp, and it will turn out so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Made this in my new bread machine. Wasn't really all that impressed with the flavor. Nothing spectacular. Probably good with some spaghetti though, or dipped in some herb infused EVOO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made my own bread for the first time with this recipe, thanks. Instead of bread flour, I just used all-purpose organic whole wheat flour. I only used 4 cups of flour, because it seemed to be the right consistency (at least from my experience with those pizza kits:)). And I used parmesan cheese instead. It actually turned out great, and am going to make this quite often. It was much denser than your normal $.79 loaf, but I liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer for this recipe. Same as I have the other two I made in the last 34 hours. I used half wheat-half white in this recipe, which made it drier than your typical homemade bread. I had to add a couple more tablespoons of oil to get the bread to stick together enough to knead with the dough hook. I'm not really impressed with the way it turned out. I'd like to try it again with just white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States