Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I replaced a cup of regular flour with whole wheat flour and skipped the powder milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This bread is fantastic! As per other reviewer's suggestions, I added more seasoning and parmesan. I did have to add more water (approx. a tablespoon). Will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Love, love, love this bread. Made it exactly as directed and it was sooooooo gooooood! Family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I took the advice of others and increased the herbs in the recipe by 1.5 times and the flavor and aroma are incredible! I made two full sized boule shapes and people kept asking me where I bought them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Dynamite recipe for Italian bread. I doubled the spices and baked for 40 minutes and both loaves were perfect. The flavor was rich and will compliment the baked ziti I am serving tomorrow night. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAELLH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe! I make this all the time and have been playing with all of the possibilities of just tweaking the herbs. I usually add a little more garlic and onion powder (up to 1 Tbsp each) because I love the garlic-y taste. Also, you can use 2 Tbsp Italian Seasoning instead of 1 Tbsp of basil and oregano to give it a richer flavor. For something 'different', Herbes de Provence works well, or try making it with Tuscan seasoning (just make sure to let the sun-dried tomatoes sit in the olive oil first). There is so much you can do with this recipe with just a few tweaks, but the original is delicious and inspiring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious! The first time I baked it exactly as the recipe dictated. However, this recipe is so easy to play with so the second time I used fresh herbs, added rosemary, and doubled the garlic powder (everyone loves garlic, right!?). With slightly less flour (5.5 cups) the bread was soft and supple, and I baked it for 30, not 35 minutes. Very, very good, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This recipe is excellent. I am making it for the third time right now. This time, I experimented a little and added a bit of sour dough starter to see how it blends with the other flavors. I've been using fresh herbs from my garden (Thyme, Oregano, Basil) and instead of onion powder I substituted chopped shallots. So far, we've devoured every loaf rather quickly. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
i ended up making little rolls out of this.. it took at least 15 min's longer in the oven.. i'm wondering if it's b/c my oven is that old.. it's a little more yeasty/sweet-ish than i prefer.. but i did enjoy it.. only deviation was i substituted parm for romano.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
You definitely don't need 6 cups of flour for this. 5 maximum, and it was still semi-stiff. I used fresh basil and oregano, and Reggiano. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States