Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I'm a breadaholic, and this is one of the best bread recipes I've ever tried. It's also one of the few recipes I didn't feel like I could make better if I tweaked it some. I cut the recipe by 1/3 (so it gave me a 4 cup flour loaf), but other than that I followed the recipe to a tee. Baked it in my covered stone bread baker, then served it with a Minestrone soup. This is truly a 5 star recipe. Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Yum yum yum .... My house smelled like heaven !!!! I skipped the cheese,onion powder, used dried herbs(did not have any i wanted to try it so bad), fresh garlic. Very nice ...and stayed soft the next day (i have had problems bread fealing very dry up next day). We could eat this bread just like that or with butter ... Thanks for the recipe ...i will be trying this with whole wheat and other herbs tooo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
this bread was very flavorful and easy to make. it went great with spagetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
So good! I just took it out of the oven and been pulling pieces off ever since. I ended up using only 5 cups of flour but it seems fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This turned out beautifully. I was looking for a good made from scratch recipe other than white bread, and this was perfect. I added a few thing though after the first rising....I put about a cup and a half of shredded cheddar in the dough, and split the dough in half. In one of the halves I put about 2 tablespoons of chopped jalopenos. I baked both loaves in the oven on our pizza stone....and then added more cheddar to the top when I was done. Turned our really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gwinn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just got myself a Kitchenaid standmixer and wanted to try out a good stiff dough to see how it would work (got a bit concerned after reading some reviews). It did fine tho and there were no problems. IT also made this recipe very easy as it doesnt require lotsof kneading. Anyways, this bread was very, very good. Nice soft texture. Will brush it with something next time to make it a bit crispier, but otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was my first time making homemade bread ever. I was surprised by how easy this recipe was (despite the manual labor of stirring in the 6 cups of flour). It came out sooooooo good and smelled incredible! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This smelled so good when I was mixing it up and then the baking... ahhhh... the baking - divine! It tasted great too, a nice moist interior with tons of flavor. I used shredded parm, because it was what I had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This bread is delicious! I ate almost half the loaf myself when it was still warm. I had a problem with my yeast so it didn't rise to its full potential but it was still delicious. I made an olive oil dip to go with it of EVOO, salt, pepper and red pepper. It complimented it nicely. Thank you for sharing, I am planning on making this again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Spectacular! I am now using this for our basic bread recipe. It really jazz's up a generic meat & cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States