Italian Herb Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Wow! This is the best bread I have ever made. It was perfect -- texture and flavor. It smelled awesome while rising/cooking. A fresh slice doesn't even need any butter. I did use well rounded spoonfuls of all the spices, but then again I always read herbs and spices as "to taste" whether a recipe says so or not. I plan to make this bread often. I'm making my own sandwich bread now and while the distinctive flavor won't work with every type of sandwich, when it does work it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I think some people need to realize that everyone's oven is different, so baking times may vary! Don't give this recipe a lower rating because your oven is different from the original poster's. Anyway, I found that this recipe was very easy to make, and the dough was fragrant, if not a little difficult to work with. I'm taking a loaf to work with my tonight, so I'll see what my co-workers have to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
What a great treat! This is a simply robust bread packed with flavor! I modified just a couple of ingredients. I added rosemary, substituted parmesan, & substituted all-purpose flour. I made my in two 9x5 loaf pan since this bread is more of a hearty dipping bread I would shape it free-form into a loaf or even a a delicious round bread! Great to freeze and give as a hostess gift wrapped in a linen napkin with a bottle of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I used Parmesan instead of Romano cheese. This is definitely a recipe that we will be making over and over again. Whole family loves it. After trying a slice I went back to get more and one of the loaves was almost gone! Thank you very very much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Delicious and fragrant. Dough was a smidge difficult to work with, had to scrap my plan for a braided loaf in favour of a round, but tasted good enough to forgive it and then some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Yum! Add more spices though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe worked great. I made it on the dough cycle of my bread machine as others suggested. Next time I will leave out the cheese. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I cut the recipe in half to make one loaf. It rose nicely and was full of flavor. Next time I might experiment somewhat using different herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe came out very well, however, we just didn't care for it. I had company for dinner, one person said they liked it, one said it tasted like baking powder, the rest said it was just okay. It was an easy recipe to make. The only change I made was to use 2 tsp. of salt instead of a Tablespoon. I also found I only needed to use 5 1/4 cups of flour. Sorry, but I will not be making this again. I think my dinner group is used to some of the other homemade bread recipes I make and this one just didn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Halved the recipe- may have been too much flour, as it came out a bit dry. I had hoped the crust would brown a bit but it did not; maybe try brushing with oil towards end of bake time on next attempt. Tasted great in grilled cheese next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States