Italian Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Love this recipe! I added chopped yam and used water instead of apple juice. Great, easy weeknight meal, add a salad and some crusty bread and it's a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
very good,i could not find halibut so i used cod,i left out the 1 cup tomato juice and apple juice.i added fish stock,3 anchovys,veg stock,a pinch crushed red pepper,and small Mozzarella balls at the end when serving,used all the other Ingredients,came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italianfrankie13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raymond, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was incredible and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have made this 2x with sea bass my husband caught on a fishing trip. I am a horrible cook and was able to follow as written. I only wish my husband caught more fish! I have now made this recipe several more times. I now chop all ingredients (except fish and herbs) as written and add them into a lightly sprayed crock pot I cook on high x 1 hour ad use a had mixer to break up my tomatoes. (Also a great tip. We are a family of 2. I buy juice boxes of apple juice and small cans of V8 for cooking. Apple juice and grape juice are great substitutes for wine.)Return the crock to low for about 5-6 hours with fish. If you use diced tomatoes and use frozen fish cut into cubes you can do the whole thing on low 8 hours. Put herbs in last 1/2 hour so they will not taste bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Yum. Used tilapia and scaled it back a little for just my husband and me. Didn't have tomato juice, so I used tomato sauce. We both really enjoyed it, and it was very Weight Watchers friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I loved this recipe and more imporantly so did my husband. The only thing I changed was the fish. I love my halibut to much to put in soup, so I used cod and shrimp. The flavors were great and I will definately make this again. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Really good, different kind of soup. I halved the recipe but used only 12 ounces of halibut and it was perfect for 2. I had diced tomatoes, so used those in place of the whole tomatoes. Also did not have a fresh red pepper so used a jarred red pepper, cut in strips, that I added at the end. It turned out to have a fabulous flavor. We all liked it and it smelled heavenly while it was cooking! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
In spirit of full disclosure, I tweaked this recipe, but we GOBBLED it up! I added chopped carrots to the sofrito at the beginning of the recipe. When I added the fish (I used tilapia filets), I also added drained and rinsed cannellini beans and artichokes, and some zucchini in Italian sauce/herbs (all tinned; I'm cleaning out my larder). I also was lamenting the lack of apple juice in my house, but ended up adding extra water and about 3-4 tablespoons of cinnamon apple jelly. AWESOME, sweet and fishy tastes together, and it made the house smell fantastic! Also, I threw in some fresh dill and basil, along with the dried thyme and parsley. Successful, and I'm glad I used the apple...it added a lot of character to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe. I don't eat fish, but in an effort to eat healthier I started with this recipe. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I used 2 lbs. flounder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States