Italian Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
very good,i could not find halibut so i used cod,i left out the 1 cup tomato juice and apple juice.i added fish stock,3 anchovys,veg stock,a pinch crushed red pepper,and small Mozzarella balls at the end when serving,used all the other Ingredients,came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italianfrankie13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raymond, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was incredible and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I have made this 2x with sea bass my husband caught on a fishing trip. I am a horrible cook and was able to follow as written. I only wish my husband caught more fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Yum. Used tilapia and scaled it back a little for just my husband and me. Didn't have tomato juice, so I used tomato sauce. We both really enjoyed it, and it was very Weight Watchers friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I loved this recipe and more imporantly so did my husband. The only thing I changed was the fish. I love my halibut to much to put in soup, so I used cod and shrimp. The flavors were great and I will definately make this again. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Really good, different kind of soup. I halved the recipe but used only 12 ounces of halibut and it was perfect for 2. I had diced tomatoes, so used those in place of the whole tomatoes. Also did not have a fresh red pepper so used a jarred red pepper, cut in strips, that I added at the end. It turned out to have a fabulous flavor. We all liked it and it smelled heavenly while it was cooking! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
In spirit of full disclosure, I tweaked this recipe, but we GOBBLED it up! I added chopped carrots to the sofrito at the beginning of the recipe. When I added the fish (I used tilapia filets), I also added drained and rinsed cannellini beans and artichokes, and some zucchini in Italian sauce/herbs (all tinned; I'm cleaning out my larder). I also was lamenting the lack of apple juice in my house, but ended up adding extra water and about 3-4 tablespoons of cinnamon apple jelly. AWESOME, sweet and fishy tastes together, and it made the house smell fantastic! Also, I threw in some fresh dill and basil, along with the dried thyme and parsley. Successful, and I'm glad I used the apple...it added a lot of character to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe. I don't eat fish, but in an effort to eat healthier I started with this recipe. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I used 2 lbs. flounder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Excellent chowder, added only carrots to it, enjoyed it very much. How about adding cheese tortelli, might try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States