Italian Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was okay- I wasn't wild about the yellowish color the beans turned after cooking, and they were a little soggy. Next time I'll probably use less butter and more Italian as the taste was good, just not strong enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
My family is very big on Italian dressing and this recipe was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I liked it, but the family wasn't so big on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPIN426

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I make these green beans often (I needed a way to dress up my green beans one evening) I do not use any butter (just a lot of dressing). To avoid the green beans being over cooked I have found if you simmer the dressing for a while before adding the green beans it will thicken up and coat the green beans nicely and you will avoid over cooking them. (By the way I use the Zesty Italian Dressing) *Update: I have now started using a Fat Free Italian Dressing. So there is no oil to worry about! (When using the Zesty Dressing I would just turn the bottle updside down and let the oil float to the top so when I removed the cap there was less oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
5 stars for simplicity and just as a different than usual way to make the same old green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
These were eh. The cook time was way too long - I cooked them for 15 minutes and they were overdone. To me, they just tasted like regular ol' string beans - maybe the dressing I used wasn't flavorful enough. I'd try them again with different dressing and a shorter cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I have never had vegetables as good as these. I added no extra seasoning to them as the flavor was strong. My whole family loved them. I don't think I'll ever make green beans any other way ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This was ok, but I'd never make it again. It did taste like green beans with salad dressing. I think it would be better cold (if you like cold bean salad).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
We did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I was quite disappointed. The recipe has you using way to much butter to begin with, has you cooking the beans a lot longer than necessary, and the taste isn't that great. Tastes like green beans with salad dressing. We were all unimpressed. This recipe may be better with a different kind of salad dressing, but I think no matter what you do, it will taste exactly like what it is: green beans with salad dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States