Italian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This had a nice flavor to it, a nice change from my regular sauce. Will be making this again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth Beach, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I used ground pork and also added mushrooms..very delicious will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Wonderful! I opted to cut the pork in 1 inch cubes, which lessened the cooking time to about 2 hours. The pork is so tender.... melts in your mouth. At first I thought the amount of dried herbs to be excessive but it all mellows out in the end. The final product is a hearty, yet light tasting sauce. I served it farfale pasta. Simple recipe, simple ingredients - can't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Amazingly flavorful! Makes a great deal of gravy that freezes well. Be careful with the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
While this recipe is an interesting twist on traditional spaghetti, it leaves something to be desired. I followed the recipe exactly (except for using a sugar substitute), but there just wasn't enough umph. I believe more garlic and maybe a little heat would benefit this sauce. On the bright side, the pork is incredibly tender in about 3 1/2 hours. I served it on bowties with garlic bread, but I think it would go well with rice after the spice additions. Also, this recipe makes A LOT!!! I froze two large bags of it. This would be easy in a crock pot, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I used 1 lb hot and 1 lb sweet sausage instead of the pork. The hot sausage gave this sauce the extra kick it was missing. My friends always ask me to make it for Soprano's Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was a good base recipe. I used ground pork instead of the shoulder. I brown the ground pork first before adding to the ingredients. I also added to the sauce some meatballs, hot italian sausage, and chicken thighs for extra flavour and removed them from the sauce for a meal. I used the sauce on spaghetti and homemade gnocci . Also I used about 3 cups of white wine in this dish - it helped give it more flavour, as it was a bit bland at first. I would suggest only using 2 cups if you don't add the meatballs, sausage, and chicken. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Truely italian. Similar to my 85 yr old grandfathers.I prefer a dark red wine, and I well-browned the meat prior to simmering. A delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was a delicious recipe. Only changes I made was to first brown the roast on all sides and set aside. Then I sauteed the onions and garlic. Also I used about 1 cup of red wine instead of the white. The smells will drive you crazy during the 4-5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe is very close to my former SIL who is Scilian. So very very good! I did buy pork shoulder steaks and trimmed some of the fat. I also browned it before adding to the pot. She used to get the sauce going for an hour or so and then refrigerate overnight and simmer all day the next day. This is WONDERFUl stuff! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States